Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ambush 4B (SoM 129) states in the english version: Forced: At the beginning of the combat phase, all enemies in play engage the player guarding Gollum. Players cannot defeat this stage if there are any enemies in play. If players defeat this stage, they have won the game.

The german version of this card text is slightly different, which says roughly retranslated: Forced: At the beginning of the combat phase, all enemies in play attack the player guarding Gollum. Players cannot defeat this stage if there are any enemies in play. If players defeat this stage, they have won the game.

Initially not knowing the english original, we thought, that all enemies get an additonal free attack against the guarding player at the beginning of the combat phase, no matter where these enemies currently are.

Now, being aware of the english original, I think, the forced effect of this quest card is handled as follows: at the beginning of each combat phase, all enemies in play, regardless of location and engagement cost, become engaged with the player currently guarding Gollum. After that, the combat phase is resolved normally. There are no additional free attacks of the enemies. Am I right in that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, it's definitely engage, not attack. Sounds like a mistranslation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.