United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
Check out Miniature Central!
badge
www.miniaturecentral.com
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey BGGers! I'm new to BGG as of August 2012 (and slightly less recently to quality board games in general) and have spent a few weeks exploring to try to understand exactly what the site can do for me. After realizing the breadth of functionality, I quickly donated and resolved to be active on the site. I thought I'd just drop a few comments about BGG and ask all you veterans out there for tips on how to make the experience more enjoyable. So please, leave me some advice!

1) Player profiles. Top 10, ratings, game ownership, etc. are all incredibly basic, but so useful. Location info makes it easy to find groups in your area.

2) Completeness of database. Wow - I had no idea this many games existed. And with board game geeks constantly bringing the newest games to the table, it's only going to get better. Being able to cross-reference by publisher, awards, category, mechanic (which was most impressive) etc. is a great way to find other games you'll love. Add the related forum, link, picture, file, etc. categories and you need no more. The presence of the designers and publishers only enriches the information, too.

3) Forums. In particular, the general presence of helpful BBGers and lack of non-constructive complaining and flaming. Kuddos to you all! In combination with the wiki, this is how I learned most over the past 2 weeks.

4 Bazaar. How awesome to be able to immediately buy the games you discover.

5) GeekMod. What better way to screen content than approval by the same people who will consume it?

Things I don't yet understand:

1) GeekLists. It seems to me that these are virtually the same as forum threads. Help?