Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

D-Day Dice» Forums » Rules

Subject: Conspicuous Gallantry Medal, Decoy, and Combat Photographer? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anthony Reynolds
United States
Greenwood
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just finished a game where this situation came up for me in the cards, and it just feels like it was powerful to the point that I may have misplayed it. So, please tell me if this is a legit play, or why it is not.

I got the Conspicuous Gallantry Medal and had the Combat Photographer and Decoy already. Then in the next turn I used the CGM in a situation that I had the Leadership RWB and used the add an additional white die to your final tally award. This gave me 10 dice in my final tally. Then I sacrificed the Decoy to use the Combat Photographers ability to repeat the same final tally next turn and added another white die giving me 11 dice. Then I sacrificed the combat Photographer to repeat this one more time giving me 12 dice in my next turn.

I think this is consistent with the rules of the game, and I just got lucky to get the CGM when I did, but I want to be sure.

Thanks in advance!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. L.
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since no one else has answered yet I hope I can help. Don't take my word for it though, as this is just how I think that should have been played. By no means is this an official ruling.

It sounds like you were playing solo, therefore only the first part of the CGM applies to you. (p. 13 awards written in two parts such as the Memorial Cross you should only consider the first part of the award for yourself) So if I understand this right you should have 9 dice in your final tally. Six from your regular roll, one for the leadership RWB, and two from the CGM.

So your RWB bonus plus whatever else you rolled and added using the RWB and CGM that is your final tally. Once you use the CGM as far as I can tell you get that exact same tally again next turn. It sounds to me you kept adding dice when you should have just used the original tally. Its hard to explain but when the CGM is used all other bonuses you should have added are forgotten because then it would not be an exact copy of the original final tally.

It sounds as if you used the CGM three times, but I may have misunderstood. To me it sounded like you used the CGM the first time when you got the RWB bonus. Then you used the decoy to use the CGM again(a brilliant play). Then you used the CGM once more after discarding the decoy. If so this is wrong because awards only last one time. So immediately after your first use of the CGM you would have had to use the decoy or else discarded the CGM. If you did this then you should only be able to use the CGM twice.

I don't know if that answered your question clearly or not it was a tricky one for sure. Let me know if I misunderstood something.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
I am not convinced that the and 1 Result to another unit doesn't apply when playing solitaire. It is written in the same style as the Reinforcements RWB where the solitaire player does get both parts. The Memorial Cross text is clearly written in two sentences (or parts).

Bryan L wrote:
It sounds to me you kept adding dice when you should have just used the original tally.

The OP is adding dice because the copied final tally contains a Leadership Bonus which adds a white die. The sequence as I see it:

Roll 6 dice, use CGM to add 2+1 dice, use Leadership RWB to add 1 white die = 10 dice.

Sacrifice Decoy (as proxy for combat photographer) to repeat final tally. However, that final tally has a Leadership RWB to claim, so add another white die = 11 die


Sacrifice Combat Photographer to repeat final tally again. Again that duplicated final tally has a Leadership RWB to claim, so add another white die = 12 die.

In my mind seems valid, just a very lucky combination of CGM/Decoy/Combat Photographer. The CGM does seem like a very powerful award to use at just the right time.


4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Reynolds
United States
Greenwood
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, in retrospect I should have pointed out that I was playing solo, so that I got the "another unit" benefit of the Award card for myself.

RPardoe did a better job describing the exact situation than i did. =P

Also, I didn't realize until after I had gone to bed last night and was puzzling over the situation while waiting to fall asleep that I also had the Scout card. I was remembering to add the 1 tool on my resource dial on all three of the turns, but should I have added an additional 1 on the consecutive turns??? I wasn't really concerned with it at the time because this all took place in a sector that prevented buying items, and I already had what I needed to bum-rush the bunker.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. L.
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RPardoe wrote:
I am not convinced that the and 1 Result to another unit doesn't apply when playing solitaire. It is written in the same style as the Reinforcements RWB where the solitaire player does get both parts. The Memorial Cross text is clearly written in two sentences (or parts).

Bryan L wrote:
It sounds to me you kept adding dice when you should have just used the original tally.

The OP is adding dice because the copied final tally contains a Leadership Bonus which adds a white die. The sequence as I see it:

Roll 6 dice, use CGM to add 2+1 dice, use Leadership RWB to add 1 white die = 10 dice.

Sacrifice Decoy (as proxy for combat photographer) to repeat final tally. However, that final tally has a Leadership RWB to claim, so add another white die = 11 die


Sacrifice Combat Photographer to repeat final tally again. Again that duplicated final tally has a Leadership RWB to claim, so add another white die = 12 die.

In my mind seems valid, just a very lucky combination of CGM/Decoy/Combat Photographer. The CGM does seem like a very powerful award to use at just the right time.


Because he was playing solo, doesn't that mean only the first part of the CGM award applies to him which is add two dice? If he was playing with other people he would get the first two dice for himself and another player the other extra dice. If playing solo, the second part of awards is left out. I realize why he was adding dice but I remember reading a similar post that made it sound like the final tally is the final tally and extra bonuses are not added. This includes things like bonuses unique to each sector. That may be wrong though.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Reynolds
United States
Greenwood
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bryan L wrote:
Because he was playing solo, doesn't that mean only the first part of the CGM award applies to him which is add two dice? If he was playing with other people he would get the first two dice for himself and another player the other extra dice. If playing solo, the second part of awards is left out. I realize why he was adding dice but I remember reading a similar post that made it sound like the final tally is the final tally and extra bonuses are not added. This includes things like bonuses unique to each sector. That may be wrong though.


I reread the solo rules after seeing your comment and it looks like you are correct in that I should not have gained the 3rd die from the CGM award card. The rule is that Items, Awards, and RWB that mention "another Unit" now affect the solo player. However, there is an exception to this rule that says that Awards written in 2 parts do not provide there 2nd part to the solo player.

So, it appears I did do at least 1 thing wrong.

My main reason for posting this is I was worried that I may have broken 1 of those "we missed this" type of rules. Like say maybe I misplayed the Decoy because it "Was not meant to work that way." type of thing. And I was wondering what exactly is considered your "Final Tally" for the C. Photographers copy effect. And, as long as we are on the CP, how strict is the "after your Final Tally" part of the card. Like can I purchase the card in Phase 3 and use it in the same turn, or must I use it at the end of Phase 2 when I have determined and resolved my "Final Tally???"

I guess I should point out at some point that this game is true epic awesomeness!!!

Thanks for the responses so far, and any more help on this is greatly appreciated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanuel Aquin
Canada
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
And D-Day Dice, too!
badge
I'm an "A"vatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Here is the snag: the Decoy cannot be discarded to prevent the sacrifice of the Combat Photographer.

The Decoy is the guy you sacrifice in place of another Specialist to fulfill sector requirements (he runs in front of the machine-guns while the unit moves into position). The "sacrifice" of the Combat Photographer is a voluntary discard to activate his special power, so the Decoy cannot do anything about it.

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. L.
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
KnagrocK wrote:
Bryan L wrote:
Because he was playing solo, doesn't that mean only the first part of the CGM award applies to him which is add two dice? If he was playing with other people he would get the first two dice for himself and another player the other extra dice. If playing solo, the second part of awards is left out. I realize why he was adding dice but I remember reading a similar post that made it sound like the final tally is the final tally and extra bonuses are not added. This includes things like bonuses unique to each sector. That may be wrong though.


I reread the solo rules after seeing your comment and it looks like you are correct in that I should not have gained the 3rd die from the CGM award card. The rule is that Items, Awards, and RWB that mention "another Unit" now affect the solo player. However, there is an exception to this rule that says that Awards written in 2 parts do not provide there 2nd part to the solo player.

So, it appears I did do at least 1 thing wrong.

My main reason for posting this is I was worried that I may have broken 1 of those "we missed this" type of rules. Like say maybe I misplayed the Decoy because it "Was not meant to work that way." type of thing. And I was wondering what exactly is considered your "Final Tally" for the C. Photographers copy effect. And, as long as we are on the CP, how strict is the "after your Final Tally" part of the card. Like can I purchase the card in Phase 3 and use it in the same turn, or must I use it at the end of Phase 2 when I have determined and resolved my "Final Tally???"

I guess I should point out at some point that this game is true epic awesomeness!!!

Thanks for the responses so far, and any more help on this is greatly appreciated.
I'm still confused on the Combat Photographers ability as well. There was a post that said "I would say your final tally is your final tally, virtual results and all. So if you move to a new sector with a bonus/penalty to your final tally, the Combat Photographer ignores that and copies exactly what you had last turn, bonuses and all." Upon reading that a second time just now I think I got it. It sounds like the sector penalties and bonuses are excluded but not your dice results. Therefore it sounds like you played it right. So lets say you get the Combat P. on phase 3 as your one specialist. Then the earliest you could play it would be the next phase one where you roll the dice. So essentially I think you can roll the dice, get a Combat. P and copy the dice you got before you even got the Combat P. Oh and I think you had a question about the Scout. You add one tool to your tally every single turn you have the Scout(that is you didn't sacrifice it). You're welcome for the help,I learned some things as well. And I think this game is awesome too. I've been playing at least three times every day.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. L.
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Amiral wrote:

Here is the snag: the Decoy cannot be discarded to prevent the sacrifice of the Combat Photographer.

The Decoy is the guy you sacrifice in place of another Specialist to fulfill sector requirements (he runs in front of the machine-guns while the unit moves into position). The "sacrifice" of the Combat Photographer is a voluntary discard to activate his special power, so the Decoy cannot do anything about it.

Thanks for the official ruling. I guess we were all wrong here. Even if you're playing wrong it still sure is a fun game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Reynolds
United States
Greenwood
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Amiral wrote:

Here is the snag: the Decoy cannot be discarded to prevent the sacrifice of the Combat Photographer.

The Decoy is the guy you sacrifice in place of another Specialist to fulfill sector requirements (he runs in front of the machine-guns while the unit moves into position). The "sacrifice" of the Combat Photographer is a voluntary discard to activate his special power, so the Decoy cannot do anything about it.



Yeah, I figured this would be a situation like that. The wording is in no way inconsistent with the way I played it, but the play is outside of the intended use of the Decoy.

May want to reword the Decoy in the next edition, or make a note of this in a future card compendium.

Thanks for the clarification.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Reynolds
United States
Greenwood
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bryan L wrote:
I'm still confused on the Combat Photographers ability as well. There was a post that said "I would say your final tally is your final tally, virtual results and all. So if you move to a new sector with a bonus/penalty to your final tally, the Combat Photographer ignores that and copies exactly what you had last turn, bonuses and all." Upon reading that a second time just now I think I got it. It sounds like the sector penalties and bonuses are excluded but not your dice results. Therefore it sounds like you played it right. So lets say you get the Combat P. on phase 3 as your one specialist. Then the earliest you could play it would be the next phase one where you roll the dice. So essentially I think you can roll the dice, get a Combat. P and copy the dice you got before you even got the Combat P. Oh and I think you had a question about the Scout. You add one tool to your tally every single turn you have the Scout(that is you didn't sacrifice it). You're welcome for the help,I learned some things as well. And I think this game is awesome too. I've been playing at least three times every day.


Thanks again Bryan. I have only been playing 1 game a night just before bed. I find the game to be very relaxing and for the most part the rules are very well done. As soon as I learned that you could play this game solo I had to have it, and it hasn't disappointed at all. I am very picky about rule and interaction inconsistencies in games I play. I got Elder Sign on day one and after about a week I couldn't bring myself to play it because so many areas of its design just didn't jive, but D-Day Dice has been an absolute delight.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.