Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » Rules

Subject: Odd rule question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Poskin
United States
Sauk Village
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had a creature in a grave yard with shroud. Can you copy that creature as shroud says it can not be the target of spells or abilities?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Vollick
Canada
St. Thomas
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Creature cards with Shroud only have shroud when they are actual creatures on the battlefield.

There is a second issue with your question and that has to do with copying a creature. You don't target a creature when you're copying it through spells like clone, or phantasmal image, so you can always clone a creature with Shroud.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
louper wrote:
Just to expound on Matt's answer, which was spot-on: spells and abilities only target if the text of the card actually uses the specific word "target" - it's that simple.


With some exceptions, of course. Enchantments and equipments target as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Tan
Philippines
Quezon City
Metro Manila
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
milegyenanevem wrote:
louper wrote:
Just to expound on Matt's answer, which was spot-on: spells and abilities only target if the text of the card actually uses the specific word "target" - it's that simple.


With some exceptions, of course. Enchantments and equipments target as well.


By equipments, he actually means the Equip ability of those permanents. You don't choose a target as you cast it; only when you get an opportunity to use its activated ability.

By enchantments, he actually means Enchantment - Aura, or cards with the Enchant ~something~ ability. This distinction is somewhat relevant...

-- You can't legally target a creature with shroud with an Aura, like say Pacifism. As Enchant is an ability that works while it is a spell, you can't legally cast it.

-- You can't legally target that same creature with the ability of Oblivion Ring. However, you only get to choose targets after the Oblivion Ring enters the battlefield, when the triggered ability enters the stack. This is important since it may affect the decision of an opponent to counter the spell (with, for example, Negate) or bounce a potential target with, say, Unsummon. While you can also bounce the creature in response to the target being chosen as part of the triggered ability, there are potential strategic reasons for bouncing before a target is chosen.

You may be in a bit of a pickle depending on how high a tournament you're in. You'll have to find a legal target for the ability, which may even mean one of your nonland permanents if your opponent doesn't have any other legal targets. It also means you can cast Oblivion Ring on a battlefield with nothing but lands and other illegal targets, and it will stay there doing nothing. (You may be able to convince an opponent, or a judge, to let you take it back.)

...

There was a time that Enchant and Equip had reminder text to let you know that they both target. Ninth Edition started putting the reminder text for Enchant when they started using the Aura subtype, though this has fallen out of favor starting M10. Equip has always had the reminder text since its inception in Mirrodin.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.