Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fleeing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
monchi
Canada
Burnaby
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So we had an interesting situation occur that we think we sorted but in a strange way doesn't seem right.

Player A Shoots using 2 dice and rolls one skull. Player B choose to Flee and rolls two Skulls. After a long discussion we came to the conclusion that even since player B "won" the seaman ship, since player A got one they got to fire and thus B couldn't flee. Next A tried to board and B tried to Flee again. Both had unsuccessful rolls. We read this as Player B didn't get a success so this they couldn't flee.

Does this all sound right??

It would seem in a strange way that in the first battle that since player B "won" the seamanship battle that they should have taken damage but escaped.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Ebert
United States
North Fort Myers
Florida
flag msg tools
Solo Gamers are NOT lonely!
badge
Together We Game Alone (1 Player Guild)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have any other questions about combat, I made a list of as many possibilities as I could to cover any questions about combat.

Combat explained with examples
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The...
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
monchichi wrote:
It would seem in a strange way that in the first battle that since player B "won" the seamanship battle that they should have taken damage but escaped.
Sounds like you played it correctly.

Thematically, Ship B (fleeing) did manage to outmaneuver Ship A (shooting) by enough to avoid taking a full broadsides, but not by enough to avoid taking damage entirely or to get out of range and escape.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
monchichi wrote:
It would seem in a strange way that in the first battle that since player B "won" the seamanship battle that they should have taken damage but escaped.


But then Fleeing would have the same difficulty as Boarding. Fleeing is designed to be more difficult than boarding. If Player B was boarding instead of fleeing then your statement would be true.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.