Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Nefarious» Forums » Rules

Subject: Invention order rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Terry Chiu
United States
Glendale
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
It's not entirely clear from the rules regarding player order when inventing; does everyone invent at the same time, or is there an order which needs to be followed? For instance, if player 1's invention eliminates cash from player 2, does player 2 lose the cash before inventing? This could impact player 2's ability to invent if they've got just enough cash to create their invention...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Teddy Winand
United States
Lincoln Park
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is in the rules. Everyone invents simultaneously then each person simultaneously resolves the effects clockwise starting with yourself.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To explain further: each player performs the following actions simultaneously, in this order:

1. Pay the cost required to build the invention (shown in the upper corner). If you don't have enough money at the start of the Invest phase, you cannot build.

2. Apply any invention actions on your invention card that affect yourself, from top to bottom. You do as much as you are able, so for example if an effect is to lose a resource that you don't have, nothing happens for that effect.

3. Apply any invention actions on your opponents' invention cards that effect everybody else, starting with the player to your left, from top to bottom then clockwise for all other players' inventions.

4. After all other players have resolved the effects of your invention card that affect everybody else, tuck your invention card under your play mat so the score is visible but the action area is hidden. Waiting allows the other players time to make sure they've resolved everything they need to, and tucking prevents confusion in the next round from wondering which inventions need to be resolved.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aae Suzuki
United States
PHILADELPHIA
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But what if two players invented something which had effects that affected others. After resolving effects that affected the inventor, which global effect takes precedence.

Let's say invention A takes away money and B gives money. And noone has money at this point. So if we resolve A, then B, then the net result for most people would be to gain 1 bag. On the other hand, if we resolve B, then A most people would have 0 bags. I didn't say all, b/c the global effects did not apply to the inventor.

Or does the clockwise resolution occur in steps. so the person to the left of A, loses money while the person left of B gains money. and then the resolution keeps repeating until it goes around the table. So some people would net gain money and some would gain zero depending on their relative position, assuming again that all had 0 bags to start)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Judd
United States
Wright City
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
raymonkey wrote:
...
Or does the clockwise resolution occur in steps. so the person to the left of A, loses money while the person left of B gains money. and then the resolution keeps repeating until it goes around the table. So some people would net gain money and some would gain zero depending on their relative position, assuming again that all had 0 bags to start)

This is the correct method.

Suppose you have a 4 player game, and Players A, B, C, and D (in clockwise order) all play inventions that affect themselves and others. The order of effects for each player would be:
Player A: Invention A, B, C, D
Player B: Invention B, C, D, A
Player C: Invention C, D, A, B
Player D: Invention D, A, B, C
6 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aae Suzuki
United States
PHILADELPHIA
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Mark!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.