Is it correct that Hanoverian generals cannot retake objectives in Saxony?
If so, why not? Aren't things hard enough for the Prussians already? I have not read one session report where they have won. It certainly would be nice to use retreating Hanoverian armies...
Normally, hanoverians will show up in saxony only when france is gone. Historically, hanover should quit the game, once france quits. In the game, i help Prussia that hanover remains in the game. -- Allowing them to protect and to reconquer objectives in saxony would allow an unhistorical use of the hanoverian army. --- Instead of, for instance, introducing a rule where hanover may reconquer objectives Sayxony but is only allowed to enter saxony under special conditions, i wrote the rule as it is: which means: Hanover is only of half benefit in saxony: They can defeat enemy armies there, but cannot reconquer/protect objectives.
I have read some reports where prussia has won :-) Even some where subsidies were lost with the first card of fate (a report in german on the histogame forum). I have to admit though that the game is balanced in such a way that EXPERIENCED players have same chances on victory. Since Prussia is the country where one can make the most mistakes, it might have been a good idea to come up with 2 rule-sets, one for the non-experienced and one for the experienced players.
Regardless, this is a great game...
Thanks for that!