Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

7 Wonders: Cities» Forums » Rules

Subject: Louis rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
matt A
United States
Idaho
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My mind is not working now, how does this card work?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad McKenzie
Thailand
Bangkok
Bangkok
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You get 7 victory points for him, minus the number of military victory tokens you have. So, if you've been kicking butt militarily in the game and gained 6 tokens, he's worth 1 vp...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie the Cranky Gamer
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
And its number of tokens, their value has no relevance.

(and of course only victories provide military tokens)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
matt A
United States
Idaho
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick response all of you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Hughes
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
He's a very specific leader mean to encourage the use of the 'peace' tokens granted by cards like the embassy and the byzantium wonder. A lot of things have to go your way to make him worthwhile though. He's one leader card i'd pass more often than draft.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Rogenski
United States
Marietta
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, if you win every battle and get six victory tokens he is worth 1vp. And if you lose every battle and get six losses, then 7vp - 6vp = 1vp.
Hmm. Something seems wrong here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jimrogenski wrote:
So, if you win every battle and get six victory tokens he is worth 1vp. And if you lose every battle and get six losses, then 7vp - 6vp = 1vp.
Hmm. Something seems wrong here.


Cities includes new "Diplomacy" tokens that remove you from the military combat entirely for the age when you earn them. Your neighbors fight each other instead of fighting you. That way you gain no tokens and lose no points. That's how you maximize Louis.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Albano
United States
Bloomfield
NJ
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Or if you stay even with your neighbors and tie with them, then he's fine.

Tie during the first two ages and win in the last seems like a great option.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie the Cranky Gamer
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
I'll clarify my above point: defeat tokens are not military victory tokens. Only victory tokens are counted for Louis.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
apotheos wrote:
I'll clarify my above point: defeat tokens are not military victory tokens. Only victory tokens are counted for Louis.


Yes, but I think what Jim was saying above was (in essence):

+7 VP (Louis)
-6 VP (Military Defeat)
---
+1 VP (Total)

The ideal with Louis is to either back out of fights (via Diplomacy) or to tie your neighbors until the last round (as several people above have pointed out).

Eric
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie the Cranky Gamer
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Right, as you were. ninja
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Harper
United States
Mankato
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think your original clarification was important apotheos. In military conflicts there are "Victory" tokens and "Defeat" tokens, both are types of "Conflict" tokens. Louis specifies subtracting the number (not value) of "Victory" tokens. So if I have one of each of the 1, 3, and 5 victory tokens from beating one neighbor and 3 defeat tokens from the other side then Louis is worth 7-3=4 points.

If you account for the -3 from your defeat tokens, then I guess you could say that Loius is only worth 1 point but he did swing your score by 4 points. So the 7vp - 6vp = 1vp is true, but it is still better than just the -6vp without Louis.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacek Deimer
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
jimrogenski wrote:
So, if you win every battle and get six victory tokens he is worth 1vp. And if you lose every battle and get six losses, then 7vp - 6vp = 1vp.
Hmm. Something seems wrong here.


Everything's perfect, it's still 7 point difference.

If you are a pacifist and don't have Louis you get -6vp, there are many reasons that you may want to go this route:
1.Going heavy science
2.Have Tomyris and don't care for loses
3.Use of dimplomacy tokens
4 You know your enemies will fight to death for military so it's not worth to compete.

In all this situations Louis gives you 7vp, that's very good for 4 coins!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.