Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

PÜNCT» Forums » Rules

Subject: Discovered connection. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Denies Gaskins
United States
Little Rock
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Who wins in the following situation?

Black has a piece stacked and blocking White's connection. On Black's turn, she moves the stacked piece to make a connection for herself. And by moving the piece, White's connection is unblocked and re-established.

Since both players now have a connection, is the game a draw? Or since it was Black's turn, does she win?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denies Gaskins
United States
Little Rock
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


Here, white's connection is blocked.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denies Gaskins
United States
Little Rock
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


And here, Black has moved creating connections for both players.

In this scenario, Biskai has marked the game as a victory for white.

Why is this the case?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's likely an oversight. He probably checks for connections after every move in white/black order. The first one he finds is the winner. This is an interesting situation that is overlooked in the rules. In other Gipf games, the player whose turn it is "goes first" (eg Gipf,Yinsh). So I suspect the official ruling will be that Black should in fact win.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Reitz
Germany
Mayen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure in this case, but I guess that the active player wins in such a case.

Michael Reitz
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Esch
Germany
Bielefeld
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Quote:
He probably checks for connections after every move in white/black order.

Yes, that's true. It was implemented this way.

But I agree: to be in consistence with the rules for e.g. Yinsh Black should be the winner.

I've just changed the code accordingly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Reitz
Germany
Mayen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Kris Burm confirmed my guess yesterday (per E-Mail):
"As for GIPF and for YINSH: the one who has caused the situation is the
winner."

So, in the above situation Black is the winner.

Michael Reitz
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.