Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cell Portal + Tollbooth rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J Sinnett
United States
Philomath
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I know it's not necessarily a good combination owing to both being Code Gates, but I just want to verify that what I think would happen here is, indeed, what would happen:

Runner approaches server, meets Tollbooth. Regardless of ICEbreakers, must pay 3 credits to avoid the run ending immediately. Uses a Strength-5 ICEbreaker to bypass the run-ending subroutine, and continues.

Runner meets second ICE, Cell Portal. For whatever reason, they're unable to make the 7 Strength, and are sent back to the outermost ICE, Tollbooth. Cell Portal is derezzed.

Now, am I correct in assuming that if they don't jack out immediately at this point, they *must* pay the 3 credit fee at the Tollbooth again, even before they kill that run-ending subroutine? (Obviously in this situation, if they couldn't deal with Cell Portal, they probably won't have enough to pay the 3 credits, particularly if they're using Shaper breakers)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Van Horn
United States
Livonia
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, Cell Portal forces them to encounter Tollbooth again. Just as they did the first time. So they pay 3 creds if able and then if they break the subroutine, they're in. If not they go home broke and empty handed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Slev Sleddeddan
United Kingdom
Victoria Park
Manchester
flag msg tools
What part of "Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn" don't you understand?
badge
Don't you open that trapdoor!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course, if the Corp doesn't have enough credits to Rez Cell Portal a second time, the runner does have a want to break through the Tollbooth.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Skov
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Would the runner be forced to encounter Tollbooth after suffering the effects of Cell Portal? Couldn't he just jack out if he wanted?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Head Zach
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nom_ wrote:
Would the runner be forced to encounter Tollbooth after suffering the effects of Cell Portal? Couldn't he just jack out if he wanted?


He could, in which case the run is ended, and you're still protected.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Milan Mašát
Czech Republic
Praha
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bhz1 wrote:
nom_ wrote:
Would the runner be forced to encounter Tollbooth after suffering the effects of Cell Portal? Couldn't he just jack out if he wanted?


He could, in which case the run is ended, and you're still protected.

But at least runner saved his 2 last credits.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2 credits? Tollbooth takes 3, or it takes 0.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Redd
United States
Bremerton
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bhz1 wrote:
nom_ wrote:
Would the runner be forced to encounter Tollbooth after suffering the effects of Cell Portal? Couldn't he just jack out if he wanted?


He could, in which case the run is ended, and you're still protected.


Doesn't Cell Portal just make the Runner approach the first ICE? You're normally supposed to jack out before you approach ICE (like, immediately after you encounter and resolve an ICE, before you approach the next one), so wouldn't Cell Portal make it impossible to jack out?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Head Zach
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
galathonredd wrote:
bhz1 wrote:
nom_ wrote:
Would the runner be forced to encounter Tollbooth after suffering the effects of Cell Portal? Couldn't he just jack out if he wanted?


He could, in which case the run is ended, and you're still protected.


Doesn't Cell Portal just make the Runner approach the first ICE? You're normally supposed to jack out before you approach ICE (like, immediately after you encounter and resolve an ICE, before you approach the next one), so wouldn't Cell Portal make it impossible to jack out?


No, because approaching is what happens prior to encountering. It is when a runner approaches a piece of ice that the Runner has the opportunity to jack out, and then (assuming he doesn't) the Corp has the opportunity to rez that ice. The only exception to this is the first piece of ice the Runner approaches during a run (which is fundamentally different from the concept of outermost, though 99% of the time they're one and the same) - the game figures that if you wanted to jack out before even encountering the first piece of ice, you wouldn't run to begin with.

Because the Runner is re-approaching the outermost piece of ice, he gets a chance to jack out...which lets the Runner save credits but also accomplishes the Corp's goal of ending the run.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dosmodious Prime
msg tools
Just to be clear on another point on the tollbooth... if the runner has 3 credits to pay when he reaches the tollbooth he MUST pay it, yes? As in no choice in the matter, correct?

Dosmodious
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Gadgaard
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dosmodious wrote:
Just to be clear on another point on the tollbooth... if the runner has 3 credits to pay when he reaches the tollbooth he MUST pay it, yes? As in no choice in the matter, correct?

Dosmodious


Yep. Only way to not pay 3 creds (if you have 3 creds) is not to encounter the ICE.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Gadgaard
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
manydills wrote:
2 credits? Tollbooth takes 3, or it takes 0.


Assuming the runner had only 2, and couldn't pay 3. Run ended, 2 creds not spent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Milan Mašát
Czech Republic
Praha
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DenGad wrote:
manydills wrote:
2 credits? Tollbooth takes 3, or it takes 0.


Assuming the runner had only 2, and couldn't pay 3. Run ended, 2 creds not spent.

Thank you for explanation, I misread the card. Much weaker now...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.