Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Nexus Ops» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shardian - Alternate Unit Attack. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Before battle, may destroy itself to roll 2 attack dice as a special attack.


Can both attacker and defender use this 'Special Attack'?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JT Call
United States
Pocatello
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't see why not. That's the way we've been playing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Woodward
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
a.k.a. The Shire
badge
Waggle, waggle
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have the old edition, but I would say yes. There is no difference between attacker and defender in battle. The only differences are:

1. Only the attacker (player whose turn it is) can play mission/VP cards.
2. If both players are playing energise/battle cards, the attacker has to play his first.
3. If both players are removing casualties, the attacker has to remove his first.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
At what point exactly is 'before battle'?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After attacker and defender has been determined, but before you start rolling dice for battle.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Woodward
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
a.k.a. The Shire
badge
Waggle, waggle
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marhawkman wrote:
After attacker and defender has been determined, but before you start rolling dice for battle.


I guess he means whether the Shardian special ability is activated before or after playing "before battle" cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that is determined by player order. It sounds like they use the same timing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Woodward
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
a.k.a. The Shire
badge
Waggle, waggle
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Universal Head rules summary says:

"The attacker goes first in playing Energize battle cards, then the defender, then clockwise from the defender."[i.e. for other players who are not in the battle but want to play cards into the battle].

I imagine that the Shardian ability would be activated at this time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.