Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
mbmbmbmbmb
As a pastor, I'm familiar with Hebrew and Greek, the languages of the Bible. I came across 2 Chronicles 32:6 today which talks about King Hezekiah placing, literally, "chieftains of war" or "captains of war" over the people in preparation for battle.

But the version I was reading today was the English Standard Version (ESV), a relatively recent translation that attempts to be readable and literal at the same time (never a happy combination). Anyway, here is the ESV translation of 2 Chronicles 32:6

Quote:
And he set combat commanders over the people and gathered them together to him in the square at the gate of the city and spoke encouragingly to them, saying, (2 Chronicles 32:6 ESV)

Bwahahahaha! I LOLed and then ROFLed.

Who knew they played wargames in ancient Israel!? laugh
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This finding seems oddly familiar... (http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/563967/combat-commander-anci...)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Shockley
United States
Seffner
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And the LORD did pull His copy of Combat Commander from te shelf, and He did check BGG for solo variants, as face to face opponents were difficult for Him to locate..
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Lacock
United States
Wylie
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
war_hero wrote:

Wow. Two years ago to the day.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
mbmbmbmbmb
war_hero wrote:

Wow. I don't even remember posting that! blush