Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
KG79
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my first attempt at a session report so hopefully it isn’t too bad…

I played a six player game of Rex at my local FLGS’ weekly game night. Four of the players (including me) hadn’t played Rex before so we spent a good amount of time going over the rules and gameplay before we got started. I chose to play as the Emirates of Hacan because Lion dudes are cool, plus the deployment discounts seemed like a good advantage to have. I can’t remember the exact Betrayal card I was dealt but it had a value of one and I needed to have more guys in the Galactic Council location. The traitor card I was dealt was the Ambassador of the Xxcha Kingdom. Here are the highlights of each turn as I can remember them:

Round 1:
During the first round nothing too interesting happened. I think all but one of the players was able to bid for and win a strategy card, so the Lazax Empire was happy with the influx of influence. I hadn’t realized that players had to pay me (as the Emirates of Hacan) the deployment cost when they deployed their units so that was a nice surprise to have some influence drop into my lap. With my new found influence and deployment discount I deployed a nice stack of units on the Imperial Palace. I now had control of two of the stronghold bases, which I felt good about. At the end of the round, two other stronghold bases were controlled by the Barony of Letnev and one of two spaces that held influence was occupied by the Federation of Sol for an influence grab. The other space with influence on it was only a couple of spaces ahead of the Dreadnaught Fleet so no one wanted to visit and chance getting wiped out in the Bombardment phase. I’m not really sure what the Universities of Jol-Nar player was doing. He deployed some units I guess but don’t remember anything specific. The Bombardment phase wiped out the uncontested influence but nothing else.

Round 2: