Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Pandemic: On the Brink» Forums » Rules

Subject: When do virulent strain additional effects trigger? (Rate Effect) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Rate effect says that when you draw a card of the VS, you draw an additional one. But does the regular infector phase complete before this effect triggers (so it would only apply on the next turn)? Some cards say expressly after the infection phase, so I'm thinking this does apply on the same turn (though just reading the card top to bottom would lead you to believe that bottom part doesn't happen until after resoling 1-3) but I didn't see a clear rule for when that extra effect actually triggers in general.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
AstroLad wrote:
Rate effect says that when you draw a card of the VS, you draw an additional one. But does the regular infector phase complete before this effect triggers (so it would only apply on the next turn)?

Epidemics are not part of the infector phase, they are resolved as part of a player's draw, before discarding down to hand limit, *before* the infector phase even begins.

Therefore, this continuing effect applies starting with that turn's infector phase, not the next turn's infector phase.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.