Popular Tags: [View All]
NICK WATKINS
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
i am new to this and just played it this weekend.
there are a few cards that give you-like concentration-
pay mana-get the stronger effect of card x and if it give you influence etc +2..

Are you required to discard a card ALSO to get this effect?

the cost of using the card concentration and the mana+ use another card/stronger effect seemed like enough of a cost (2 cards and a mana) vs if you are required to use 2 cards a mana AND a discard for the stronger effect (3 cards!!!)

so can someone explain how the cost is "FREE"?
i can see how it is free if i dont have to ALSO pay the throw another card away.
thank you if this has already been answered, i didnt see an official ruling on it (or maybe there is a section that explains "costs" of spells)

getting flashbacks of magic the gathering

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
that Matt
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
I'm a quitter. I come from a long line of quitters. It's amazing I'm here at all.
badge
I can feel bits of my brain falling away like wet cake.
mbmbmb
It's "free" because you don't have to pay the mana you would usually need to use the strong effect of the second card.

But that's it.

Any other costs associated with the text will be required.

See threads: The term "free" (in combination with discard/throw away) or Concentration + Pure Magic
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
NICK WATKINS
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks for the info and link.
its funny to me because while you say the cost of the other card is free -no mana cost- you are essentially just changing the color mana of the casting spell to use another card and to get +2 effect

so i use a green mana to use the bottom effect to not pay the cost of say a red card bottom effect (and yet still have to throw away the card)
is that right?