Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Solo #70 Lashkar-e-Tayyiba rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joseph Cesare
United States
San Marcos
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The event calls for placing a cell in Pakistan and India.

I have only one cell on the funding track.

Am I prevented from playing the event because there aren't two cells available and follow the no cells available branch of the decision tree?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom moughan
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
badge
ahh....I love the smell of a stack of sketchily placed animals in the morning!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Assuming the card is playable...which just means the prereqs are met, I would first place the final cell in one of the two countries. I do not have the player aids in front of me but use the prioirty for placing cell information or assign the two on a die (1-3 and 4-6) and then the rest is in the solo rules:


9.4.1 Event or OPS?
First, follow the “Event or OPS?” flow chart to determine whether
the card’s event occurs and what, if any, operations the Jihadist side
will perform:
• If the card is a playable (6.2.6) Jihadist or Unassociated event,
play the event (even if it provides no effect or to US advantage).

EXCEPTION: When there are no cells on the Funding track,
an event that would Recruit or place a cell instead triggers
Radicalization (9.4.3).


9.4.3 Radicalization
When the flowcharts set up a situation where the Jihadists cannot
use any operations value received from a card
, instead:
If the Funding track has a cell, the 1st operations value remaining
automatically places one cell into a random country.
• The next operations value Travels one cell (determine destination
and origin using the flowcharts, 9.4.2.6, starting at the second “To”
box); the Travel automatically succeeds (ignore Biometrics).
• If Funding is less than 9, the next operations value automatically
places a Plot (9.3.2) into a random non-Islamist Rule country with
a cell.
• Each operations value that remains automatically worsens the
Governance of a randomly selected Good or Fair Muslim country
by one level.
EXAMPLE: The Jihadist card is a 3-value playable US event, but
there is only one cell on the map.
Conduct one Plot operation with
the cell (9.4.1), then place one cell from the track (regardless of
Funding) into a randomly-selected country (9.5), then automatically
Travel with one cell.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dampenon Fabien
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Rookies talk about strategy, Grognards about Logistics
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are cells on Funding Track, so I think there is no radicalization after placing the last cell on the map, because this is not a case where the Jihadists cannot use any operations value received from a card. In fact, Event#70 doesn't give operations to Jhihadist Player.

May be 6.2.4 applies (even if the result of the example would have been different in Solo Play, because when there are no cells left, Radicalization occurs...).

So, I think you place the last cell in one of the countries (using 9.4.2.1) and then, play is over.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, implement as much of the event text as possible. There was one cell to be placed, and no ops are left unused, so no radicalization.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom moughan
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
badge
ahh....I love the smell of a stack of sketchily placed animals in the morning!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah right! Just read radicalization a bit closer!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.