I realize that "C" attacks ignore cover and that the Hammer's rocket punch is a range "1" not "C", so by the rules I am making the assumption that an attacked unit can still benefit from corner cover or the like? I do not seem to find an exception anywhere, but the "flavor" of their melee like attack would seem to go along with ignoring cover like a knife attack. Is there such an exception I have simply neglected to find, or are cover rolls available when being attacked by the Hammers/Rhino ?
I guess I'll have to actually look at the card. I was playing Germans and simply asked the Allied player and was told it was "1". If it is indeed "C" that would clear up the cover question and I guess I should have been able to counter attack with knives as well. Good to know for next time.
It was his second game, and only my 5th (took longer to paint the two core sets than I had anticipated), so we are both running on blind ignorance at this point. Probably would not hurt to have pics of your opponents card when still so unfamiliar though, to not only make sure the weapon lines are being rolled properly, but also to better appreciate the opponents "kill zone" and better use distance and maneuvering.