Subject: Please help with recommendations! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Warren
United States
Fair Oaks
California
flag msg tools
Hi, I'm pretty new to board games in the sense that I have played very few of the ones that I have seen on here. I mostly play with my wife, but sometimes play with 3,4 or even up to six or seven people.

My wife's favorite game, by far, is Settlers of Catan. It's basically the only game she ever wants to play. When it's just the two of us, though, we play either Ticket to Ride: Europe or Ticket to Ride: Nordic.

When we are in larger groups, we'll still pull out Settlers with the 5-6 person expansion (at the wife's behest). We also enjoy Pandemic and Bang.

I'm the nerdiest one I know so Twilight Struggle appealed to me, but I don't know if the wife would be wild about it. Other games I looked at have been Kill Doctor Lucky, Carcassonne, Domaine, El Grande, and Power Grid.

Basically, I need some help. I'm not very interested in deck building games (eg Dominion), and I don't want something that lasts longer that 90 minutes. Two hours would be the max, as the people I play with cannot handle a game that long (though I tend to enjoy it). Preferably a game that can be scaled from 2 people to four or five. Maybe separate games for 2 people, 4 people, and then larger group games would be very helpful.

Thank you so much for your help. I submit to the wisdom of those on the forum. Thank you.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Lyons
United States
Eastlake
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I usually just play with the wife too and games she took to was
Tobago Decent 2 player,but will play up to 4
Letters From Whitechapel Best with 2 but I think will play 6
and for some reason she took a liking to Claustrophobia Just a 2 player game. But she only like's playing the Demons.
Were more into family board games and not euro's so im not sure what you will like,but this is a small list that my family enjoys.