Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Shadowrift» Forums » Rules

Subject: Choice between Losing X or Y? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Flynn
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I couldn't find a clarification anywhere for this, so here goes. If a card instructs Heroes to choose between two negative effects, can the Heroes choose one that doesn't apply to them to avoid losing the other?

For example, the Al'Taros Demon card, Stage 2 Action states:

"Heroes lose a Coin or take a Wound."

Can the Hero choose to lose a Coin if they don't have any Coins in order to avoid taking a Wound? And likewise, can they choose to take a Wound if the Wound pile is empty to avoid losing a Coin?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Hickey
msg tools
mbmbmb
I generally read those as

Heroes lose a coin. If a hero cannot lose a coin, that hero takes a wound.

Maybe I'm wrong, I guess we'll find out in this thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
On the one hand, you do absolutely have the choice to do either if you have a Coin and there are Wounds in the stack. So, for instance, if you have a Coin and a Holy Aura, you can choose to take a Wound and prevent that Wound with your Aura, drawing a bonus card.

However, in cases of effects offering a choice, you can't pick a non-viable option over one you can actually do. So if there are no Wounds left, you should give all your Coins to one person just before the effect goes off. That way, you only lose one Coin instead of one per player.
In a similar vein, you're allowed to hand all your Coin to one player just before the Hoard Squatter's effect goes off, though if you plan to do so you shouldn't bother attacking it the turn before.

Also, because people have asked about this: Losing a Coin refers strictly to the Coin card itself. You can't pay the Coin resource by discarding a Heroism in order to avoid Al'Taros' wounding effect.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Flynn
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool, thanks for the clarification!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.