Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Andean Abyss» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on (6) Oil Spill rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Riley
United States
Foster City
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
6. Oil Spill (GFCA) reads:

Rebels blamed: Shift 2 Opposition or Neutral Departments adjacent to Sabotage to Passive Support.

Multinationals make mess: Sabotage a pipeline. Shift an adjacent Department by 1 level toward Active Opposition.

Question: In the top section of the card, I assume the Sabotage mentioned is a Sabotage that is already on the board, and is not related to the placed Sabotage under "Multinationals make mess"? Or would you place a Sabotage counter when the top event is executed as well?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Quinn
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The former Patrick. The top part is only applicable if there already is sabotage. No new sabotage gets placed.

Makes sense thematically. If rebels had blown up a pipeline previously then they get the blame. Multinationals are not out there trying to blow them up and could not have done so previously. But they have been know to cause the odd oil spill by mistake thus introduction of a Sabotage when they do it.

Todd
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only 1 Event can ever occur on a dual-Event card, so they are exclusive.

Since Rebels blamed doesn't place a Sabotage marker, yes it would have to be a Sabotage marker that was previously placed.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Riley
United States
Foster City
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Todd and Steve!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance G
United States
Knoxville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
...determines everything.
badge
When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On the shaded portion:
A guerrilla does not have to be present in the pipeline selected?

Sabotage question:
If you have already sabotaged the southeastern pipeline to Cucuta and the Venezuela event card comes up that allows you to place a base in a dept adjacent to Venezuela and sabotage both pipelines touching Cucuta, do you place 2 sabotage markers on the southeastern LoC in that situation?



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
4x scalper wrote:
On the shaded portion:
A guerrilla does not have to be present in the pipeline selected?

Correct. The "Sabotage" in this case represents an industrial mishap, not guerrilla action.

4x scalper wrote:
Sabotage question:
If you have already sabotaged the southeastern pipeline to Cucuta and the Venezuela event card comes up that allows you to place a base in a dept adjacent to Venezuela and sabotage both pipelines touching Cucuta, do you place 2 sabotage markers on the southeastern LoC in that situation?

No, never place a Sabotage marker on a LoC that already has one (Key Terms page 16 Sabotage; 3.3.4 2nd bullet). Unlike Terror markers, there is no additional effect to further Sabotage.

vfr
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance G
United States
Knoxville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
...determines everything.
badge
When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!

As FARC, I like to pound it home for the GOVT.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don't Blink
Australia
Brisbane
QLD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I select one Dept adjacent to one Sabotage, and select a second Dept adjacent to a second Sabotage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.