Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Catan: Seafarers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cloth for Catan: can you finish your turn when game ends? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
K F
Canada
flag msg tools
Here's the situation: we were playing the "Cloth for Catan" scenario. Most of the villages already had the chits depleted. There were still several chits left on the "3" and "10" village, only 2 left on the "4" village. Two players had established shipping routes to the "4" village.

Now what happened was, player 2 rolled a "4" on her turn. The "4" village was now depleted of chits so the game was over (only 2 villages still had chits remaining). Player 2 argued she had the right to finish her turn--with the 4, she picked up enough rocks to build a city (combined with the wheat she already had from before). She also argued she had the right to use up her last development card (a Knight, which could be used to steal a chit from another player).

Question is: does the game end IMMEDIATELY once the 4 is rolled, or does it end AFTER the current player's turn is allowed to finish? (In our case, Player 2 would have won had she been allowed to finish her turn; but if the game would've ended immediately once conditions were satisfied, there would've been a tie between two other players.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reiner Dr. Düren
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say:
"The game ends when a player reaches 14 victory points on
his turn or when 3 or less of the “Forgotten Tribe” villages
each still contains at least one Catan chit. In the second case,
the player with the most victory points wins. In case of a tie,
the player who has more bolts of cloth wins."

Since the game ends "when 3 or less of the “Forgotten Tribe” villages
each still contains at least one Catan chit." and not "in the turn when this happens", the game ends immediately when this requirement is fullfilled. In your game with a tie, the player with more bolts of cloth had won.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K F
Canada
flag msg tools
Thanks so much for the clarification! That's the way I interpreted the rule too but it was a tough debate to settle. Actually, even without allowing player 2 to complete her turn, there was a 3-way tie in points--but player 2 had much less cloth than the other two players so she lost out just barely.

Funny enough in our case both of the other two players had the same number of bolts of cloth (apart from the chits, one player had 4 settlements, the other had 2 settlements + 1 city). Not sure if there are any further tiebreakers? (We are happy to just leave it at a tie though.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reiner Dr. Düren
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, there are no other tiebreakers. But you can put the table away, give the players in tie a knife and let them fight it out. Maybe the player wins who has cut more clothes from the other player. devil
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Torode
msg tools
Re: Catan tie breaking demonstration [Video]
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s0bClUp9I6w&feature=player_em...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Santiago Acosta y Lara
Uruguay
Montevideo
Montevideo
flag msg tools
mbmb
If I understand the rules correctly, the game should have already ended because only 3 villages contained at least one Catan chit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.