Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Power Grid» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a power plant be used twice in one turn? (Answer: No) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gerald Monkey
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Just played my first game of this and looking back I think we played it wrongly.

Say for example I have a plant which for 2 coal supplies 5 cities (not sure if that one even exists).

I've bought the plant, then in the next phase I buy 4 coal resources to max how much it holds.

Next phase I build some cities so I now have 10 cities.

Can I power those 10 cities from that one plant? i.e 2 coal twice?

Our brains were completely frazzled after about an hour of setting up and reading the rules..

Great game though!!
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcus Zielinski
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Perhaps a silly question...
Nope, each power plant can only power once per turn.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Bass
United States
Venice
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Perhaps a silly question...
...and by the way, you can not partially use that same plant and burn 1 coal to power 2 (and a half) cities.
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moe45673
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Re: Perhaps a silly question...
I recommend this guide to everyone. Unsure if it states the specific rule you had issues with, but it completely eliminates the fiddliness and burnout that accompanies constant rule-checking. Your mind is then fresh to lookup any rules that you find unclear.

http://files.boardgamegeek.com/file/download/1ndb9znzq7/Powe...?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerald Monkey
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Re: Perhaps a silly question...
Ok, we played it quite wrong then.

Will have to remember for next time!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Perhaps a silly question...
Also see Power Grid FAQ.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.