Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monkeys rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In our recent session, some more questions arose around monkeys:

(1) Is the time of monkey transformation cumulative? Especially, if one of the heroes is already transformed in a monkey by "Curse of the Monkey God" and in the same round the whole group is target of "Dance of the Monkey God" and all avoidance rolls are unsuccessful, is the already transformed hero for 2 or 4 turns transformed? We assume 4, because nearly everything in the game, which can be measured, is cumulative.

(2) Can a monkey still receive items? We assume yes, because no rule says otherwise. Furthermore, if that would not be the case, the newly transformed monkey would not receive the new item from the chest, he just opened, that would be too powerful.

(3) Tightly connected to question (2), can a monkey do the free reequip at the start of his turn and can he put items in his pack, if he receives a new item? We assume both a yes, because otherwise, it would be again a too hard disadvantage, if a monkey gets a new treasure and must drop it, because he is fully equipped.

(4) Can a monkey use glyphs? We assume no, because, moving through a glyph is not an ordinary movement, but a movement action. And movement actions are not allowed for monkeys.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corbon Loughnan
Indonesia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
In our recent session, some more questions arose around monkeys:

(1) Is the time of monkey transformation cumulative? Especially, if one of the heroes is already transformed in a monkey by "Curse of the Monkey God" and in the same round the whole group is target of "Dance of the Monkey God" and all avoidance rolls are unsuccessful, is the already transformed hero for 2 or 4 turns transformed? We assume 4, because nearly everything in the game, which can be measured, is cumulative.


I would say each card is indepenednt of the other, so the time of transformation will overlap, not be cumulative. The wound tokens are just markers and you should keep each pile separate and return the hero to hero form only when both piles are the correct size.

Hermjard wrote:
(2) Can a monkey still receive items? We assume yes, because no rule says otherwise. Furthermore, if that would not be the case, the newly transformed monkey would not receive the new item from the chest, he just opened, that would be too powerful.


Yes.

Hermjard wrote:
(3) Tightly connected to question (2), can a monkey do the free reequip at the start of his turn and can he put items in his pack, if he receives a new item? We assume both a yes, because otherwise, it would be again a too hard disadvantage, if a monkey gets a new treasure and must drop it, because he is fully equipped.


Yes.

Hermjard wrote:
(4) Can a monkey use glyphs? We assume no, because, moving through a glyph is not an ordinary movement, but a movement action. And movement actions are not allowed for monkeys.



Exactly.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Retired Hurt

Brussels
Unspecified
msg tools
(4) whence the question : is Tatianna's personal skill a movement action ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps you mean Tahlia? Since a monkey cannot declare orders, there is nearly no chance, that Tahlia uses her special ability. By Leadership, a monkey could receive a Guard order. The final FAQ says for monkeys, that "Guard and Aim orders are useless to a transformed hero". I would interprete that this way, that Tahlia cannot even use the movement part of her Guard order as monkey, but this could be questionable.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a follow up question: Monkeys can use staircases, so are monkeys allowed to reveal new areas across staircases?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corbon Loughnan
Indonesia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Merrimac wrote:
(4) whence the question : is Tatianna's personal skill a movement action ?

No. She isn't using a glyph. Its not going to town that is a movement action, its using a glyph.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corbon Loughnan
Indonesia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
I have a follow up question: Monkeys can use staircases, so are monkeys allowed to reveal new areas across staircases?

Yes. They are heroes. Why wouldn't they be allowed to reveal a new area?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.