Popular Tags: [View All]
Jordon
Canada
Courtenay
BC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello all,

I recently played Labyrinth on "Wargameroom" (java) with my friend whom lives thousands of miles away. What an awesome experience. We played three games in 4 hours and the last game was tense with competition.

Wargames are so different from other boardgames and I feel like I've been missing out.

I have always put theme first and would like someone to point me towards my dream game.

Looking for:

* Fun for both 1 or 2 players. I want to play solo first.

* Modern (2000AD+)

* Smaller scale, more tactical (yet i know wargames are usually more strategic and thats fine)

* Ideally a vassal module available so I can try it out before buying it. (I am a student so i must be careful with my purchases)

* Ideally, but this is a stretch, playing Canadian troops deployed in afganistan, choosing loadouts, running operations, campaign play, etc.

* Nothing ASL complexity. Labyrinth was about the max I'm looking for.

I'm already looking forward to you guys' repsonse.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S S
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ranger comes pretty close to your requirements. It is tactical-level modern patrolling and SF operations. It is, however, solo, US forces only. Not sure about Vassal.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Lai
Hong Kong
Happy Valley
None
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
You could try Phantom Fury - The 2nd Battle for Fallujah
It simulates, at tactical scale, the combat waged by US forces during the month of November 2004 to secure the city of Fallujah and crush insurgent resistance. The game zooms in on the fighting of the 3rd Battalion, 1st Marine Regiment, 1st Marine Division in the Jolan District in the north-west part of the city in the morning of November 9th.

No vassal module though, but its fun and interesting.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools