Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

High Frontier» Forums » Rules

Subject: 5.4 Boost Operation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Davidson

Livonia
Michigan
msg tools
Kirk "The Man" Douglas (Vikings)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sat down yesterday with a friend and said only 7 pages of rules, this should be a breeze, until I started reading them Not from the point of being badly written, but the concepts are so different that it is blowing my mind up.

(from the first reprint Oct 2011) 5.4 Boost says I can play one or more crew or white cards from your hand to the Rocket or LEO stack on your player mat.

1. Does this mean I can play crew cards to the Rocket or LEO stack and no white cards or vice versa?

2. Can I play cards to both at the same time?

3. From what I understand reading some of the question and answers here as long as the Rocket is at LEO I could play cards to the Rocket Stack from LEO as well as from my hand, but I couldn't boost from hand to LEO in this case.

4. Once the Rocket has left LEO I can no longer add cards to my Rocket without decomissioning it, but could I still boost cards to LEO while moving my Rocket around the map.

Thanks in advance for helping this rookie.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erich Schneider
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes.
2. Yes.
3. No; you can boost cards to LEO and choose not to incorporate them into your rocket when the rocket is at LEO.
4. Yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chuck dunn
United States
Memphis
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


1. you can play both crew and white cards from hand to LEO..in one action
just pay the mass.

2.cards that are boost to LEO can consolidate with any rocket at LEO.. can't move till next turn ..

3. cards in LEO can be combined into or too any rocket at LEO before your move... then fill it up with water and move rocket .. then for action you can boost to LEO, take one start auction and so forth .

4.yes. pay the mass .and the NASA player if he's in the game .
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Davidson

Livonia
Michigan
msg tools
Kirk "The Man" Douglas (Vikings)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys, I know that isn't the hardest part to the rules, but for some reason I couldn't quite get my head wrapped around all those or's, just thinking to hard on it I suppose.

Cheers
Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Dommett
United Kingdom
Ipswich
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The reason for this is because getting heavy stuff up off the surface of the planet and into LEO is expensive. Taking things on and off your rocket when in LEO is quick and cheap. Each turn represents a year so time is not the limiting factor - it is money. (Well, the limiting factors are actually energy and the services of highly specialised labour, which must be purchased!)

As mentioned above, the other limiting factor in the game is that movement happens *before* boosting (well, it is happening simultaneously - your rocket would leave LEO at the start of the year and arrive at its destination near the end, during which time the boosting operation is taking place back at Earth). Consequently, if your rocket wants to include newly boosted items then it must be in LEO after the movement phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Eklund
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The stacks in High Frontier are pretty fluid, and don't require actions to swap cards (in play) in and out of.

As mentioned, the only restriction is that you can't move after picking stuff up (but you can drop off an outpost stack, or drop stuff off in LEO, etc).

The stack concept is really just to keep track of what items are where on the board.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.