Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about shields vs. critical hits... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Neomaxim Noefaith
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I may have simply missed this point in the rules, and if so I apologize.

If the hit that brings a ship's shields down to zero (IE removes the last shield token) happens to be a single critical hit, does the effect apply, or is the shield simply taken down?

Also, another one RE: marksmanship. As Marksmanship requires an action, is it in essence you declaring your shot during your action phase? OR are you opting to take no action, and then using your action when you are making the marksmanship attack?

Edit: Bah... a search of the forums revealed what seems to be my answer to the first question. Second still stands though.

And while i'm at it... just for explicit clarification... If a critical hit results in something that doesn't expressly say that it then is flipped and considered a normal damage, is it still ALSO a normal damage? IE, an ongoing effect is both 1 damage, AND its ongoing effect, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Shield is simply taken down (see pg 16)

2) Marksmanship is declared in the Action phase (right after the maneuver) but it's not "used" until you fire. It's like Focus, you declare it during the action phase, but don't use it till fire.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Newtruthneomaxim wrote:
I may have simply missed this point in the rules, and if so I apologize.

If the hit that brings a ship's shields down to zero (IE removes the last shield token) happens to be a single critical hit, does the effect apply, or is the shield simply taken down?

The shield is just removed, there is no further effect.

Quote:
Also, another one RE: marksmanship. As Marksmanship requires an action, is it in essence you declaring your shot during your action phase? OR are you opting to take no action, and then using your action when you are making the marksmanship attack?

You are using your action to "concentrate" on marksmanship and then it will be available when you attack later.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Ross
United States
Charleston
West Virginia
flag msg tools
Grand Master Cabalist
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For your last question. Is what you are asking along the lines of "What happens if the card says that you lose your secondary weapons and you don't have secondary weapons ... do you just turn the card over?"

I think that the answer to that would be yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Newtruthneomaxim wrote:
And while i'm at it... just for explicit clarification... If a critical hit results in something that doesn't expressly say that it then is flipped and considered a normal damage, is it still ALSO a normal damage? IE, an ongoing effect is both 1 damage, AND its ongoing effect, correct?

A critical hit is always counted as a "hit" against your hull. It just has the "bonus" damage. The only time is not a "hit" is when it is a "direct hit" and counts as TWO hits!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Ross
United States
Charleston
West Virginia
flag msg tools
Grand Master Cabalist
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Meaning that if the card affects an elite pilot skill and you don't have that skill you just leave it and it counts as a hit whether it is flipped over or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can shields be recharged?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cut_ wrote:
Can shields be recharged?


Not normally. The exception to this is R2-D2.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Higdon
United States
madison
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are cards that recharge Shields in the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mundane wrote:
Cut_ wrote:
Can shields be recharged?


Not normally. The exception to this is R2-D2.


Or as we call him "that little bastard".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Geosphere wrote:
Mundane wrote:
Cut_ wrote:
Can shields be recharged?


Not normally. The exception to this is R2-D2.


Or as we call him "that little bastard".

It's too bad there's no way to invoke, "I lost R2!" Well, maybe there is with a critical hit?

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys.

I just unboxed my game and hadn't had time to go through the rules or the cards.

Geosphere wrote:
Mundane wrote:
Cut_ wrote:
Can shields be recharged?


Not normally. The exception to this is R2-D2.


Or as we call him "that little bastard".


Paul, you're everywhere here
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.