Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Planning and Wound cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do wounds in your hand count towards the planning tactic.

My gut says no. For some reason I do not allow the word "card" to be applied to wounds.

Cards are cards...and wounds are wounds, but perhaps I'm wrong.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct - wounds do not count as cards unless an effect specifically says so.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Plei Forejoy
Singapore
flag msg tools
This space for rent!
badge
Painting all these miniatures is starting to crimp my time...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dlikos wrote:
Do wounds in your hand count towards the planning tactic?

Paul Grogan, official FAQ maintainer, says "yes".
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jebbie wrote:
dlikos wrote:
Do wounds in your hand count towards the planning tactic?

Paul Grogan, official FAQ maintainer, says "yes".


Huh? Wait - this seems to be a contradiction to what has been quoted from the rules in one of the previous posts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cochran
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Common sense seems to indicate that you wouldn't worry about whether they're wounds or not. In all other cases the other players can verify that a play or discard was legal by examining the card as it is being used. In the case of counting, you can't really expect people to expose their hands or bookkeep for later.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed. Makes sense in multiplayer, when hands are hidden.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Plei Forejoy
Singapore
flag msg tools
This space for rent!
badge
Painting all these miniatures is starting to crimp my time...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
josef_k wrote:
bleached_lizard wrote:
Jebbie wrote:
dlikos wrote:
Do wounds in your hand count towards the planning tactic?

Paul Grogan, official FAQ maintainer, says "yes".


Huh? Wait - this seems to be a contradiction to what has been quoted from the rules in one of the previous posts.


The quote from the rules implies that wound cards are considered deed cards, and so should count towards the Planning tactic (which says "If at the end of your turn you have at least 2 deed cards in your hand, draw your next hand as if your hand limit is increased by one").


For the definition in the Rulebook (below emphasis mine):
p. 4, Basic Game Concepts, Deed Cards wrote:
1. All cards with this card back are Deed cards. These consist of Action cards (Basic and Advanced), Spells, Artifacts and Wounds.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
that Matt
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
I'm a quitter. I come from a long line of quitters. It's amazing I'm here at all.
badge
I can feel bits of my brain falling away like wet cake.
Avatar
mbmbmb
For the purposes of discard, you can't choose a Wound to be "a card" (e.g. Improvisation). Otherwise Wounds would have a bit less sting.

But Wounds are still Deed cards, they still go in your deck, they still count toward your hand size.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr. snowMan
Canada
Kitchener
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just remember that Wounds are Deed cards, but not cards.

Hee hee. Seriously.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, if they didn't count towards planning, then they wouldn't count towards your hand limit either then right?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.