Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael J
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to Memoir '44, and am having a great time playing through the scenarios with my son, as well as playing solo (solo is far more enjoyable than I expected). So far, we/I have played about 8 of them, including 1 from the Eastern Front.

I've been wondering about the types of tactics that are required for attacking different terrain beyond the base game. For the most part, terrain seems fairly similar, typically -1 for infantry and -2 for tanks. Some require you to stop when entering or exiting them. Others allow you to ignore flags.

Is there any terrain type that requires you to be adjacent to a hex to attack it? Such as a deep bunker where you can't assault it unless you are on top of it?

Are there any types of terrain with special rules that really change up the tactics needed to play with them? Or terrain with rules that make them feel less similar than other terrain?

What about the Urban Combat rules for the Stalingrad Battle Map? Do they change up the Terrain rules any more?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Wheelock
Canada
Woodstock
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
badge
David Malki drew this!
mbmbmbmbmb
mjacobsca wrote:
Is there any terrain type that requires you to be adjacent to a hex to attack it? Such as a deep bunker where you can't assault it unless you are on top of it?

In some scenarios, units start the game camouflaged. Other units have to be adjacent to attack them. If the camouflaged unit moves, or attacks, it loses its camouflage.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart de Groot
United Kingdom
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

As mentioned by Scott, Camouflage protects units from all attacks except adjacent, until they move.

This is pretty much the terrain you are asking for.

Make you roll dice when you move onto them.

Allows Japs to teleport.