United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I made this last week:

I am by no means a developer. This Android app was made using App Inventer from the folks at MIT Media Labs. It uses a language similar to Scratch, which is designed to teach kids the basics of programming while allowing them to create immediate tangibles like animations and games. UC Berkeley uses a version of Scratch in CS10, The Beauty and Joy of Computing, used to introduce non-majors to programming. Bottom line is App Inventor is surprisingly accessible, and after 10 minutes, half of which was installing software, I had an Android app running on my phone (not this dice roller, but a cat that meows when you pet it).

I made this app in my spare time after work. Half the time was spent finding and editing image and sound files. As for the programming, while maybe a bit too big for someone's first project, a dice roller still incredibly easy to program.

Did this take more than $5 of my time? Oh yes. But it was interesting, and now I have a fun app to roll dice so my opponent can use the real ones. If you or your child want to learn programming, I think this a great project to try, mostly because it's useful and you can customize it to your own liking.

Before people ask, I probably will not be releasing my app for IP reasons: I used image and sound files from Star Wars and FFG, and it would be directly competing with FFG's own app.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Redd
United States
Bremerton
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Umm...

"This video is no longer available due to a copyright claim by Fantasy Flight Games."

That's just low. I hope to God this stops before FFG becomes the next Games Workshop. Supporting the fans that buy and promote your product is good business; biting the hands that feed you is not.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Brown
msg tools
Well FFG does make a dice app for android and iPhone/iPad.
 Thumb up