Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ola Lundin
Sweden
Uppsala
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!

I am very new to MECCG, I have access to alot of cards and I am also planning on making proxies for some.

However, I find it hard to know where to start when building a deck. There are so many aspects that should work together for making an interesting and fun deck.

I am more interested in making a deck with strong theme, rather than a strictly competitive deck.

I would be most grateful if someone could give me some hints on how to approach deck building!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Riley
United Kingdom
Bridport
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Ola

Congratulations on getting into this beautiful game. Assuming you are starting with the Wizards, try EBay or Amazon for the Wizards Players Guide which was published by ICE. It includes photos of all the cards and what they do. It also has a lot of text giving insight into the game including deck themes. Also have a look for a paperback called Mastering Middle Earth which is exclusively about deckbuilding.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
José San Miguel
Spain
Valencia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd follow these steps:

- Choose a theme. The Return of the King, Destroy the One Ring, Loot the Dragons' Lairs... whichever you want.
- Gather the key resources (by that I mean resource cards) you need to accomplish such task. Cards that you don't need from the beginning of the game can be on the sideboard.
- Add support resources and try not to go far past 30 cards.
- Choose the best characters and avatar for your theme. Decide which ones start in the deck and which ones go to the pool with the starting minor items.
- Add and equal number of hazards. You can choose a theme for that too. Undead, Orcs and Trolls, Corruption, Environment, Dragons... try that your hazard theme doesn't "kicksback" with you resource theme. E.g. don't buff orcs if you plan to go to Moria.