Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Quarriors!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Unclear about how attacks work rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brandon Gardner
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Now this is going to sound odd, but I'm not quite sure how attacks work, even now after playing the game several times.

What brought this issue up was the Heavenly Seraph. The ability is like the Deathdealer in that when it destroys an opponent's creature, it is scored immediately. Fair enough.

But herein lies our issue: when you do attack, do you attack opponents one at a time, resolving the attack individually, or do you attack all opponents simultaneously with the same attack? The reason why this is relevant is because upon looking in the rules, it literally says "attacks hit opponents simultaneously as well as individually" which doesn't make sense to us.

Here's why this matters for Seraph: if you must attack each opponent one at a time, the Seraph will be scored after destroying whatever monster(s) it does of theirs. This means the rest of the attack doesn't hit remaining opponents.

But if the attack happens to every one all at once, it kills (most likely) something on each person's field, making it more powerful.

So, which is it? Individual or simultaneous?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Smith
United States
New York
flag msg tools
My understanding (and the way we play) is that we go from player to player and resolve attacks that way. You could, in theory, resolve attacks against all players simultaneously, since your attack numbers, in essence, regenerate for each player you attack. But it would seem much less chaotic if you went around the table and resolved your attacks against each opponent one by one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Individually" does not mean one at a time; it means that the attack abilities and points assigned to each player are independent of what happens to other players. So the order does not matter.

Remember to do the steps of the attack in order (p. 6-7):

Quote:
1. Count Damage


Your attack total is counted before the attack actually takes place, and does not change during the attack. (See: Strong Scavenging Goblin)

Quote:
2. Attack: … Each opponent follows these steps…
2a. Apply Protection
2b. Choose Defender
2c. Defender Takes Damage


All of your opponents assign damage to their first defender at the same time. At this point if any of your opponent's creatures were destroyed, your Heavenly Seraph would score (provided the conditions are met).

Quote:
2d. Next Defender
Repeat steps 2b, 2c, and 2d as needed …


The attack then continues, using the remainder of the attack points you got in step 1.

Since scoring the Heavenly Seraph does not affect the attack total, you could simplify the turn by doing that part after your opponents have taken all damage.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.