Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Disaster Looms!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about ship size and customer capacity rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ron Hoppe
United States
Marysville
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We have been playing that all ships have only one customer carrying capacity. Once someone gets the Mass Containment technology this limit is increased to 2 customers for all his ships. However of the 4 games we played so far (one 3 player game and 2 four player games) we have never had the game end on other than cataclysm. Not even close to being able to evacuate all the customers from Earth on any of those 3 games. Are we playing it wrong? One of our gamers suggested that perhaps only the starting ship has the 1 customer capacity and increases by one customer per level of ship built. Please clarify and thank you ahead of time for your response
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wombat Sanders
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
You're playing correctly. All ships start at 1, and go to 3 max if you've got Mass Containment and Isolating Fields. Have you been playing with the correct number of customers, or possibly including all of the extras from C&C? It's also possible that you won't rescue as many people if you are playing with a non-aggressive group and Buyouts are not a risk (thus leading to planets not being filled up defensively).

In playtesting, we balanced the number of customers around the "Hollywood" ending, where the last customer is removed from Earth during the same round as the Cataclysm.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Mann
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Does the planetary customer limit apply to Earth as well? We were playing with customer pickups on Earth limited to 5 a turn from the start, and once ship capacity went up and we each had multiple ships, the last player was shut out of picking up new customers each turn. Wasn't sure if this was intentional to encourage emphasis on bidding for turn order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wombat Sanders
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
Earth has no population limit, the only time you can't pick up a customer from Earth is if the population has been exhausted.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.