Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Bloom
Canada
Halifax
NS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Would someone please clarify the use of paras in relation to invasions.

Question: May paratroopers be dropped on top of Allied invading infantry units in an eligible, German occupied, invasion hex and take part in their invasion combat?

Question: May paratroopers be dropped beside a German occupied invasion eligible hex and take part in the same combat as the Allied infantry units assaulting from within the German occupied hex?

If yes to the former question, then when do normal stacking rules commence?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carter
United States
Woodbury
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bannockburn wrote:
Would someone please clarify the use of paras in relation to invasions.

I am not an expert in this game, but will attempt to answer your questions.
Bannockburn wrote:

Question: May paratroopers be dropped on top of Allied invading infantry units in an eligible, German occupied, invasion hex and take part in their invasion combat?

I think so. Rule 20.8 states:

20.8 Paratroopers can even drop on top of enemy units, but must fight those enemy units. In this case, however, they do not, and cannot, fight any units in adjacent hexes. If enemy units in the drop hex are not eliminated or retreated, the paratroopers are eliminated instead; they may not retreat. They can combine to attack with invading units.

So based on the last sentence, I think the answer to your question is yes.

Bannockburn wrote:

Question: May paratroopers be dropped beside a German occupied invasion eligible hex and take part in the same combat as the Allied infantry units assaulting from within the German occupied hex?