Popular Tags: [View All]
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Greetings,

I am rather new to the game, started my first game with a friend and got to a late Barbarossa in '42.

Though by what I perceive, by the amount of Soviet forces, and the VP requirements which are in place, it seems to me the Axis in Europe is quite hopeless in the end of the day. Especially if we consider the lousy replacements they're to get with later cards and that pratically to push the VP marker to 2 already is quite a massive feat, I am unsure how the VPs can get to 3 or 4 either unless the Axis conquer the map - and not even sure if can get to 14 on the map itself.

Any tips are welcome.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Fridy
United States
Kent
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't played the new edition, but never give up hope!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Kreder
United States
Nuevo
California
flag msg tools
Founder of the The Wargame Bootcamp (https://www.boardgamegeek.com/guild/962)
badge
My hero Grumpy Bonaparte
mbmbmbmbmb
I am in the middle of a campaign game as the Germans right now. They are not easy to play (I am two years late with Barbarossa and I am no where near Moscow, the Allies have invaded France and Corsica).

The trick is learning the cards and the timing of when to attack and when to re-enforce. Your real pushes should be in the summer, and the winter (especially in Russia) is not your friend. Learning a rhythm that works for you is the real challenge of the game.

Hope that helps a little
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
The issue are not the forces but more how many VPs I can collect.
Well forces will be "depleted" soon enough. Both sides are far plumper in '42 for a Barbarossa in current game, than the historical '41 Scenario.
Though Sovs have a 6-9 combat value wall in Eastern Poland which is not easy to crack.