Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification on Power Tokens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Robinson
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
About to play my first 6 player game. Feel I have a handle on everything but want to make sure I fully understand power tokens.

If I move my troops/army out of an area but leave a power token behind, the reason for this is:

- If there is a crown on that land I can collect power tokens if the right westeros card comes up.

- If there is a castle/stronghold on that land I can muster units if the right westeros card comes up.

- If there is a barrel on that land I can add it to my supply when the supply westeros card comes up.

- If there was a port attached to this land I could still enter that port, muster units to that port, etc.

Am I missing any other reasons to leave a power token behind?

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Robinson
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ha, I'll most likely answer my own question here but I thought of one more reason:

- Enemy troops cannot retreat into a land with a power token thereby potentially causing them to have nowhere to retreat and thus die.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rice
United States
LIHUE
HI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By George, I think you've got it
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dezza
Australia
South Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You missed the other reason for putting a power token on a castle/stronghold

If you leave an area with a castle/stronghold and DON'T put a power token on it, then you immediately move down 1 on the victory track
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Robinson
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dezza wrote:
You missed the other reason for putting a power token on a castle/stronghold

If you leave an area with a castle/stronghold and DON'T put a power token on it, then you immediately move down 1 on the victory track


YES. This is a very good one. Thank you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Almanza
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you start off with any power tokens or is everyone at 0 to start?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Robinson
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TigerKing wrote:
Do you start off with any power tokens or is everyone at 0 to start?


Everyone starts with 5.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you leave a space that is yours, does the power token(that is placed in the territory) come from general supply or your own past consolidated power earnings supply?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rice
United States
LIHUE
HI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a player vacates (i.e., leaves no unit behind in) an
area, he loses control of that area unless he establishes
control by placing a Power token from his available
power on the vacated area.

Available Power: Power tokens in a player’s play area,
available to be bid or otherwise spent during gameplay.
Power tokens in the Power Pool are not considered available
power.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WOW TY! I missed that rule!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Maz
msg tools
If I leave a territory on turn 1 and place a power token down, if I return units to that territory turn 3 can I pick up that power token and put it back in my pool of available tokens?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Hall
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maz437 wrote:
If I leave a territory on turn 1 and place a power token down, if I return units to that territory turn 3 can I pick up that power token and put it back in my pool of available tokens?
No, the power token stays in pace until the area is captured by an enemy (when it returns to the pool of tokens you can draw from when you gain tokens).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.