Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
21 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: djinn question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Buckmaster
United States
Ada
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Could you put 2 or 3 copies of Djinn in your deck and use one to host another one and so on? I don't think the card is worth all that but a buddy does and it came up ingame a few minutes ago.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Lindsay
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Yes, djinn can host djinn. As long as the program being hosted isn't an icebreaker or pushing you over the 3mu limit for that djinn it's ok.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Agha Ahsan
United States
Los Altos Hills
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But why would you do that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Lindsay
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
It does gain some MU. The first djinn takes up 1 mu. If you install the 2nd djinn on it you now have 2 mu on the first djinn left, 3 on the new one, plus the 3 from your base mu amount available. Icebreakers can only be installed on the 3 base mu, but you'd now have 5 for other programs on the two djinns instead of the 3 you had with only 1 djinn.

You could install each djinn separately, but each base mu a djinn uses is one you can't use for a breaker, and breakers can't go on the djinns.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noah D

Arlington
Virginia
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hrrrmmm wrote:
It does gain some MU. The first djinn takes up 1 mu. If you install the 2nd djinn on it you now have 2 mu on the first djinn left, 3 on the new one, plus the 3 from your base mu amount available. Icebreakers can only be installed on the 3 base mu, but you'd now have 5 for other programs on the two djinns instead of the 3 you had with only 1 djinn.

You could install each djinn separately, but each base mu a djinn uses is one you can't use for a breaker, and breakers can't go on the djinns.


Right, it's most efficient to stack your djinns in this way in order to maximize the MU you can use on Icebreakers. The risk is that if a program trashing effect catches you unawares and without a sacrificial construct, then the Corp can hit the root of your djinn tree and take out all the djinns and all the programs hosted on them at once.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Agha Ahsan
United States
Los Altos Hills
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
argus88 wrote:
Hrrrmmm wrote:
It does gain some MU. The first djinn takes up 1 mu. If you install the 2nd djinn on it you now have 2 mu on the first djinn left, 3 on the new one, plus the 3 from your base mu amount available. Icebreakers can only be installed on the 3 base mu, but you'd now have 5 for other programs on the two djinns instead of the 3 you had with only 1 djinn.

You could install each djinn separately, but each base mu a djinn uses is one you can't use for a breaker, and breakers can't go on the djinns.


Right, it's most efficient to stack your djinns in this way in order to maximize the MU you can use on Icebreakers. The risk is that if a program trashing effect catches you unawares and without a sacrificial construct, then the Corp can hit the root of your djinn tree and take out all the djinns and all the programs hosted on them at once.


Oh!! that IS brilliant... Never thought about it that way...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Stevens
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
I protect the sheep in our society from the wolves.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought every Runner Faction starts with 4 MU????
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mat Nowak
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Omahavice wrote:
I thought every Runner Faction starts with 4 MU????

They do, Jeff was saying "plus 3 from your base mu" because the original Djinn is already taking up 1 of the original 4 MU available.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Lindsay
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
That is correct.

In the examples given, installing djinn, which takes up 1 mu, leaves the runner with 3 of their starting mu remaining. However, djinn itself can host up to 3 mu of non-icebreaker programs which don't count against the memory limit of the runner.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DJINN 1
- Datasucker
- DJINN 2
- - Medium
- - Medium
- - Medium
- DJINN 3
- - Datasucker
- - Magnum Opus (2MU)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin Twentier
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools


Edit: ... Sorry, I had to.
20 
 Thumb up
0.28
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Smithy

Wheaton
Illinois
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
DJINN 1
- Datasucker
- DJINN 2
- - Medium
- - Medium
- - Medium
- DJINN 3
- - Datasucker
- - Magnum Opus (2MU)


Djinn-ception. Djinn within a Djinn within a Djinn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Head Zach
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hdnggrnchrg wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
DJINN 1
- Datasucker
- DJINN 2
- - Medium
- - Medium
- - Medium
- DJINN 3
- - Datasucker
- - Magnum Opus (2MU)


Djinn-ception. Djinn within a Djinn within a Djinn.


WARNING: Do not use when intel suggests Corp may be employing H-B methods. Rototurret, Ichi 1.0, and Aggressive Secretary will do you in like playing stinking-ass-drunk Jenga. (No idiot, don't pull the bottom one!)

Also, look out for this guy:

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin Twentier
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
Hdnggrnchrg wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
DJINN 1
- Datasucker
- DJINN 2
- - Medium
- - Medium
- - Medium
- DJINN 3
- - Datasucker
- - Magnum Opus (2MU)


Djinn-ception. Djinn within a Djinn within a Djinn.


Wouldn't that be...

Djinn 1
- Datasucker
- Djinn 2
- - Medium
- - Medium
- - Djinn 3
- - - Datasucker
- - - Magnum Opus
- Medium
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher B
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Both trees are possible.

BT Carpenter did put both Djinns on the first Djinn. Then filling the empty slots on all the djinns with extra cards. (1 slot on Djinn1 , 3 on the others)

You did put Djinn 2 on Djinn 1 and Djinn 3 on Djinn 2, then filling all remaining slots (2 slots on Djinn 1 and 2, 3 slots on Djinn 3)

There is no advantage to either method. Both trees will be destroyed when Djinn 1 leaves play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin Twentier
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
Yes, I'm aware, but with the last tree it is in fact a Djinn within a Djinn within a Djinn, before it was just two Djinns within a single Djinn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Fanjoy
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
countcb wrote:
Both trees are possible.

BT Carpenter did put both Djinns on the first Djinn. Then filling the empty slots on all the djinns with extra cards. (1 slot on Djinn1 , 3 on the others)

You did put Djinn 2 on Djinn 1 and Djinn 3 on Djinn 2, then filling all remaining slots (2 slots on Djinn 1 and 2, 3 slots on Djinn 3)

There is no advantage to either method. Both trees will be destroyed when Djinn 1 leaves play.

In the corner case of running into Aggressive Secretary with two counters while you have exactly one Sacrifical Construct in play, it does matter which way you've set up your tree.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CitizenFry wrote:
countcb wrote:
Both trees are possible.

BT Carpenter did put both Djinns on the first Djinn. Then filling the empty slots on all the djinns with extra cards. (1 slot on Djinn1 , 3 on the others)

You did put Djinn 2 on Djinn 1 and Djinn 3 on Djinn 2, then filling all remaining slots (2 slots on Djinn 1 and 2, 3 slots on Djinn 3)

There is no advantage to either method. Both trees will be destroyed when Djinn 1 leaves play.

In the corner case of running into Aggressive Secretary with two counters while you have exactly one Sacrifical Construct in play, it does matter which way you've set up your tree.


Wait for the FAQ on this question please, it will answer it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher B
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Edwin20er wrote:
Yes, I'm aware, but with the last tree it is in fact a Djinn within a Djinn within a Djinn, before it was just two Djinns within a single Djinn.


Ah! that makes sense.
sorry, didn't get that blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tala Mare
msg tools
mb
Edwin20er wrote:
Hdnggrnchrg wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
DJINN 1
- Datasucker
- DJINN 2
- - Medium
- - Medium
- - Medium
- DJINN 3
- - Datasucker
- - Magnum Opus (2MU)


Djinn-ception. Djinn within a Djinn within a Djinn.


Wouldn't that be...

Djinn 1
- Datasucker
- Djinn 2
- - Medium
- - Medium
- - Djinn 3
- - - Datasucker
- - - Magnum Opus
- Medium


Perhaps, but if you do it like this
Djinn 1
- Datasucker
- Djinn 2
- - Medium
- - Djinn 3
- - - Medium
- - - Magnum Opus
- - Datasucker
- Medium

It looks more like a Pyramid
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Pettigrew
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Talamare wrote:
Perhaps, but if you do it like this
Djinn 1
- Datasucker
- Djinn 2
- - Medium
- - Djinn 3
- - - Medium
- - - Magnum Opus
- - Datasucker
- Medium

It looks more like a Pyramid


Most pyramid-looking would be:

Djinn 1
- Djinn 2
- - Medium
- - Datasucker
- - Datasucker
- Medium
- - Djinn 3
- - - Medium
- - - Magnum Opus

Especially if you turned the Djinni sideways.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.