Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Consecutive marches rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Almanza
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's the question that came up:

If you march into an enemy territory with a march order, is that order removed, or is it only removed if the defender loses the territory?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Marching itself never affects enemy order.
Only winning
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Hall
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
March order is removed when there are no troops of that house in the area.
So a defender could win but lose their troops (e.g. to Mace Tyrell and/or to Tides of Battle card) - the order is removed. Alternatively, the defender could play Arianne Martell card and prevent winner occupying territory - defender's order is still removed as they have no troops left in area.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Hall
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Horrid Beast wrote:
So you are saying that you can continue to march if you are walking through blank territories or you defeat an enemy?
Absolutely not. The attacker/mover's March order is on the territory the attacker starts in - the march order is removed after the battle is resolved, it doesn't move to the territory you end in (exception: special power of Ser Loras Tyrell).
So after moving to an empty area or winning a battle the troops that move into the new area have no order token in their area (unless Ser Loras was their battle commander).

I mis-read your intial post. I took the rules about the attacker's move order (above) for granted and thought you were talking about when you remove the order in the defender's area (which could be a march order).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reveil The Warlock
Russia
Gatchina
flag msg tools
We have territory 1->2->3 adjacent in this order.
In territory 1 we have march order and our unit.
In territory 2 we have march order and our unit.
Territory 3 has enemy units.

Can unit from T1 move to T2 and then using move order from T2 can both units move to T3?
A bit offtopic: Can we use raid(torch) on atack (move) order?
Thank you in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Hall
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can chain move orders - I think the rules even have examples with this.
Bottom line, there is no memory. Unrouted units in a territory with a move order can move when you resolve that order.

Raid on attack order has no effect. Raids can:
a) cancel another raid
b) cancel a CP order, including CP* order (and gains a power token in the process)
c) Raid* can cancel a defence order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reveil The Warlock
Russia
Gatchina
flag msg tools
gamer42_au wrote:
Raid on attack order has no effect. Raids can:
a) cancel another raid
b) cancel a CP order, including CP* order (and gains a power token in the process)
c) Raid* can cancel a defence order.

Yeah, that's what I've read in the rules. Cancel crown, assist(gauntlet) and raid (torch).
It's just that I've played my first game on a board game fest and the guy who knew the rules told us that you can burn attack order. After playing a game like this I though that this is absurd and checked the rules before buying this game.
Thank you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.