Recommend
11 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Vegas Showdown» Forums » Rules

Subject: RE: two consective tax cards = 1/4 income? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Sanheim
Canada
Coppersands
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of discussion. - Plato.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In both our games of Showdown, upon drawing cards, and thus filling empty premier spots, we drew two "taxes" cards. Now, the card states, "Each player collects half his or her usual income this turn (round down)."
So what we did was to take one quarter of each player's usual income.
Reference to "usual income" would seem to suggest not to do this but then what happens to the event?
Feedback welcomed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henry Stern
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Good question.

Double taxes events is intended be half income, not quartered.
-hs
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Etherton
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How about doubled-up Visionary or Good Relations cards?

-Dave
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henry Stern
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
etherton wrote:
How about doubled-up Visionary or Good Relations cards?

-Dave

More good questions!

Double Visionary would stack (ie gain 2 fame per overbid).

Double good Relations does not stack( must overbid by at least 2 spaces)
-hs
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin J
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had the double-tax situation come up, and we actually found a third interpretation of the rule...since each card says that you "get" half your usual income this turn, he argued that you "got" half your usual income twice, thus getting your full income (unless it is odd, in which case you lose one dollar).

I just thought that it was an interesting interpretation and figured I would share it with BGG.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Etherton
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
haster123 wrote:
etherton wrote:
How about doubled-up Visionary or Good Relations cards?

-Dave

More good questions!

Double Visionary would stack (ie gain 2 fame per overbid).

Double good Relations does not stack( must overbid by at least 2 spaces)
-hs


Re-reading this old thread -- I'm curious why you decided that Visionary stacks while neither Taxes nor Good Relations stacks? Wouldn't it be simpler to declare that duplicate "turn modifier" cards are ignored except for their tile type?

-Dave
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Sutherland
United Kingdom
(just) West of London
Middlesex
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
etherton wrote:
haster123 wrote:
etherton wrote:
How about doubled-up Visionary or Good Relations cards?

-Dave

More good questions!

Double Visionary would stack (ie gain 2 fame per overbid).

Double good Relations does not stack( must overbid by at least 2 spaces)
-hs


Re-reading this old thread -- I'm curious why you decided that Visionary stacks while neither Taxes nor Good Relations stacks? Wouldn't it be simpler to declare that duplicate "turn modifier" cards are ignored except for their tile type?

-Dave

Had this very problem so was looking what others had done. I like the idea of ignoring the duplication apart from the card type selected.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.