Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about placing influence markers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
H Y
msg tools
Hi, I am wondering how the placement of influence points(IP) really works?
Are the points placed one by one? If so, then is it allowed for the following scenario to happen?

Current situation: U.K.(5C/0)France(0/0), Spain(0/0), Morocco(0/0)
US player used a 3 OPs card and placed 1 IP on France, then another 1 on Spain since he has 1 IP on France and the last point on Morocco since he has 1 IP on Spain?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the rulebook addresses this. You must be adjacent at the start of your turn to all countries in which you place influence. However, you place influence points one at a time so that if you are breaking control of your opponent's country, you only pay double as long as he still controls the country.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
6.1.1 in the rules covers this.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henric Fröberg
Sweden
flag msg tools
Seize the Road
badge
For Captain Hammer!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
QBert80 wrote:
No, the rulebook addresses this. You must be adjacent at the start of your turn action round to all countries in which you place influence.


It should say "current action round", not turn in the quote above. So you could place 1 (or more) IP:s in France on one action round, 1 (or more) in Spain in the next action round and so on. Since the placement will be spread out over several rounds, different cards will provide your operation points.

EDIT: minor clarification.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good point. I was using incorrect terminology there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Block
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dude is that Q-Bert? Haven't seen him in a while...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.