Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Axis & Allies Europe 1940» Forums » Rules

Subject: Turkish Straits rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
William La Sala
United States
Flushing
NY
flag msg tools
Hypothetical situation:

Italy captures strict neutral Turkey with an amphibious assault.
On Italy's next turn on her combat move she wants to move a tank
which starts in Greece, and makes it's first move across the Turkish
Straits into Turkey and it's second move into Northwest Persia.

Question: Does the little bit of European Turkey (where Istanbul would be)or in other words the bit of Turkey on the Western side of the strait be considered a separate space. If so, then my tank in Greece makes it's first move into the little bit of western Turkey then it's second move into Turkey proper (the main part of the country on the eastern side of the straits and ends it's move thus unable to attack Western Persia and cripples my strategy (boo hoo).

Which is the legal scenario?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's all one space. See page 9 of the Rulebook.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Ozimek
Denmark
Aalborg
flag msg tools
badge
Must resist M:tG. Boardgames are my methadone :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In order for "Instanbul" to be a seperate territory, it would need to have it's name written on the board. You can use the same logic to easily identify island groups.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bret Hawkeye
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
What about seazones with no number in it? e.g. caspian sea.
Is it possible to move over them with airplanes?
Or built ships from an adjacent factory into them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Caspian Sea is a sea zone like any other (except that it has no number).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.