Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

1989: Dawn of Freedom» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tiananmen Square Attempt - Goddess of Democrazy Timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Holger Joist
Germany
Burghausen
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When exactly does the discard and when does the replacement for 6.3.5 Goddess of Democrazy draw happen? Both at the start of the turn, just before the "Deal Strategy Cards" phase? If so, why does the rule say "non-Scoring card", as you can't keep Scoring cards for the next turn?

Are the Tiananmen effects cumulative? Example: player A is at "Hunger Strike", player B reaches Local PLA support. Is player B now allowed to do 2-Ops Support Checks at the end of the turn AND to replace a card with Goddess of Democrazy at the start of the next turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For Goddess of Democracy, you draw your hand of Event cards. After checking them, the eligible player immediately discards one non-Scoring card, and draws a replacement for it. Then the Communist player proceeds with his first card play.

They specified non-Scoring card as they don't want people discarding Scoring cards via this method - the Communist has no way to discard a Scoring card via events, the Democrat does have several.

The effects of the track are cumulative and last until your opponent reaches a certain box, cancelling the bonus for you. The exceptions are the two single-use-only abilities which are naturally just used once each by the first player to reach the box.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TwoShedsJackson wrote:

They specified non-Scoring card as they don't want people discarding Scoring cards via this method - the Communist has no way to discard a Scoring card via events, the Democrat does have several.


Yeah, this is already a good ability. Allowing it to discard scoring cards would make it ridiculously powerful.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Holger Joist
Germany
Burghausen
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TwoShedsJackson wrote:
For Goddess of Democracy, you draw your hand of Event cards. After checking them, the eligible player immediately discards one non-Scoring card, and draws a replacement for it. Then the Communist player proceeds with his first card play.

Thanks for your answers!

My mistake was that I assumed the discard and draw replacement would take place at the very start of the turn before the draw of the complete hand. At this moment the player couldn't have a scoring card.

The online rules are very clear on that (4.5.1) but I've read over without recognizing it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.