Recommend
17 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Fleet» Forums » Rules

Subject: Comprehensive turn summary for newbs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Jimenez
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
Edit: Modified Optional Licenses after reading Ben Pinchback's input on another thread
Edit: Bolded PHASE BONUS, reordered PHASE BONUS and OPTION for Captain
Edit: Bolded CHECK GAME END, capitalize NORMAL for Draw, add Tuna reminder to bring cards to hand before discard
Edit: After forgetting this on 2 turns, added REFRESH LICENSES

I created a summary to remind me how to play, based on the standard turn summary, card descriptions, and expansion descriptions. To my knowledge this summary has it all.

Probably not needed for salty Fleet folks, but would be good for me if I haven't played in a while. I think I would have wanted something like this when we first started. I'm also our official game group rules person and have the burden of "checking everyone".

I missed so much in our first game that I listed the play as Incomplete. It doesn't tell you the basics like
* no need for PV vessel to process or trade
* unlimited launching of a boat type once you have the license
* 1 trade max or anything else in the art of fishing
* how to setup the game
* end game scoring

But what it does do is remind me of what to account for for each Phase.

I also separated Launch/Captain. Just makes more sense to me. I sent this to my IPad and it helped me not forget things during play.

Turn Sequence (Perform each in turn order)

1 Auction (1 License per player) - SHRIMP
1.1 Pay with Shrimp, Fish Crates, Cards
1.2 REFRESH LICENSES: None taken: Refresh all, Any taken: Add to player count
1.3 CHECK GAME END: Not enough licenses, finish round

2 Launch - COD
2.1 NORMAL: 1 Launch, BONUS: Cod License(s): 2 Launches
2.2 OPTION: Use a launch - Salvage Yard License, Max 1 Salvage
2.3 OPTION: Use a launch - purchase 1 Inuit Fisherman
2.4 Pay with Shrimp, Fish Crates, Cards
2.5 PHASE BONUS: Cod License, +card per License if any boats launched

3 Captain - LOBSTER
3.1 NORMAL: 1 Captain, BONUS: Lobster License(s): 2 Captains
3.2 OPTION: Salty Captain(s) (Pay with Shrimp, Fish Crates, Cards)
3.3 PHASE BONUS: Lobster License (+card for Captains, see License)

4 Fishing - SALTY CAPTAIN
4.1 NORMAL: +1 Fish per Captained Boat, 4 max
4.2 BONUS OPTION: Salty Captain: +2 Fish per Captained Boat, 8 max
4.3 CHECK GAME END: Not enough Fish, game ends this phase

5 Processing & Trading - PROCESSING
5.1 Each Boat may send 1 Fish to Processing License
5.2 Trade Max 1 Fish on Processing License to +Card * Processing License(s)

6 Draw - TUNA
6.1 NORMAL: Draw 2, keep 1 of the 2, BONUS: Tuna License, see License
6.2 Tuna: Bring cards to hand before any discard

7 Optional Licenses, post-Draw/Game End
7.1 Nunavut Weather Authority / Wharfside Casino
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Riddle
United States
Oxford
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mark. Great summary. I will look it over a bit closer tonight biut great job!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
You can take my gameā€¦ when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the board!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hehe, very nice! I've been working on a similar player aid... planning to upload in the next day or two.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Leoncavallo
United States
Rockland
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice! If nothing else it showed me that I played the game correctly the other day.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Condon
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I could have sworn I just read in another thread you could only process one crate of fish per turn, not per boat.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Riddle
United States
Oxford
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
roufus wrote:
I could have sworn I just read in another thread you could only process one crate of fish per turn, not per boat.


you can process one crate per boat, you can only TRADE one crate per turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Condon
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
riddlen wrote:
roufus wrote:
I could have sworn I just read in another thread you could only process one crate of fish per turn, not per boat.


you can process one crate per boat, you can only TRADE one crate per turn.


Sorry again, but I want to make sure I get the rules right before our first game Saturday.

What exactly does Trading entail then? I don't think it would be trading for the coin value of the crate off the processing vessel.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Halasz
Hungary
Szada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trading for card(s) depeding on the number of processing licences you have.
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Altoona
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am confused between the use of "round" versus "phase".

1.3 CHECK GAME END: Not enough licenses, finish round
4.3 CHECK GAME END: Not enough Fish, game ends this phase

Can someone help clarify the difference for me?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Pinchback
United States
Leonard
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LetsGetTrivial wrote:
I am confused between the use of "round" versus "phase".

1.3 CHECK GAME END: Not enough licenses, finish round
4.3 CHECK GAME END: Not enough Fish, game ends this phase

Can someone help clarify the difference for me?

1.3 That phase is beginning of round so wanted to make sure you finished the whole round
4.3 Fishing is near the end of the round so no need to do anything after the fishing phase
but yes 4.3 could have said finish the round too
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Gresik
United States
Bolingbrook
IL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bno70_1 wrote:
LetsGetTrivial wrote:
I am confused between the use of "round" versus "phase".

1.3 CHECK GAME END: Not enough licenses, finish round
4.3 CHECK GAME END: Not enough Fish, game ends this phase

Can someone help clarify the difference for me?

1.3 That phase is beginning of round so wanted to make sure you finished the whole round
4.3 Fishing is near the end of the round so no need to do anything after the fishing phase
but yes 4.3 could have said finish the round too


Not to necromance a 6 month old thread - but just trying to be clear in regards to the bolded. I thought I remember reading somewhere that Nanuvat Weather Authority and Wharfside Casino get to act prior to endgame. Is that correct? If so, it should say "end round" - not "end phase".

ETA: For simplicity, should the rule always simply be "end the game at the end of the current round"? I realize that if the NWA or the Casino are not in play, it makes no difference (i.e. there is no need to draw cards or process) - but isn't simpler to just say it one way? Or am I missing something? Thanks for any guidance - I am new to the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.