19 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » General

Subject: Playing as the runner? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cookie Crumble
msg tools
Hi everyone

I’m fairly new to card games in general but am so far loving Netrunner.

I just wondered if anyone had any advice for when playing as the Runner. I’m not an overly aggressive player though I know I have to be to stand a chance and am learning, but I really struggle on this side. I’m much better at Corp where I win by flatlining my opponent instead of scoring agendas (again, not aggressive enough to advance anything that isn’t ICE without panicking).

I think the main issue I have is that it seems so expensive to run, by the time I think I’ve got enough money and time my opponent is ready to stomp me with their defences. I know money is everything to the Corp but it seems almost as important to the Runner who’s also worrying about hand size, traces etc.

Maybe I’m approaching this a bit backwards, but if someone could help me change my way of thinking that would be great. I think I prefer the Shaper as the other two are a little aggressive to me, or maybe that’s how I should be. All I know is that the Criminal and I don’t see eye to eye. What kind of set up do you aim for mid-game? What’s a good opening hand? These are things I can’t seem to figure out.

I am having a lot of fun trying but I don’t think I’m learning what I should be from my losses ^^; Any advice would be awesome.

Thanks very much!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wesley Kinslow
United States
Piperton
Tennessee
flag msg tools
↳ Do one brain damage ↳ Do one brain damage ↳ End the run
badge
Real heroes wear pink...
mb
Just run.

A lot. Especially at unknown ice.

Ice isn't likely to kill you - it'll hurt you but oftentimes it won't kill you. If you keep the Corp broke for most of the game because he's rezzing ICE then you'll have a lot more time to catch up.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawcomic
United States
Tennessee