Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking through obstacles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jack B

California
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The rule book states:

"Obstacles represent space features that are difficult
to fire through.

When measuring range during combat, if any part
of the range ruler between the two ships
overlaps an obstacle token, the attack is considered
obstructed. Because of this obstruction, the
defender rolls one additional defense die during the
“Roll Defense Dice” step of this attack.

Remember that range is always measured as the
shortest distance between the two ships’ bases.
The attacker cannot attempt to measure range
to a different part of a base in order to avoid
obstructing obstacles."

What I am not sure of is if this rule applies to Protons/Missiles and the Ion Cannon. Since those attacks don't affect the amount of dice rolled at range 1 and 3 normally. By the wording of the rule it would seem as if does apply to the secondary weapons IMO. What do you all think?

(1st post btw)
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RUOKBustaWolf wrote:
What I am not sure of is if this rule applies to Protons/Missiles and the Ion Cannon. Since those attacks don't affect the amount of dice rolled at range 1 and 3 normally. By the wording of the rule it would seem as if does apply to the secondary weapons IMO. What do you all think?

That's because in the rules for the 1/3, it specifically states "primary weapon". If there's no mention of primary or secondary, then it applies to all weapons (as is the case for asteroids). Almost all game effects apply to both weapon types.

-shnar

P.S. Welcome to the geek, have some gold
17 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.