Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

A Touch of Evil: The Coast» Forums » General

Subject: Dumb Questions about the Sunken Seven... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: FFPWiki [+] [View All]
Bob T
United States
Mantua (near Woodbury)
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) If you need to use something other than Combat for a fight (Spirit, Cunning, or Honor) can you still use your weapons such as the Pistol which is +1 Combat? I seem to remember reading in a forum or FAQ that you could still use your weapons in the Base Game when fighting minions such as Ghost Soldiers, which require Spirit.

2) In Cooperative Showdown, does each individual player roll for which Skill must be used or does one roll count for everyone in that Fight Round?

3) Does the Judge automatically do 3 Hits?




1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Hill
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thoth Amon wrote:
1) If you need to use something other than Combat for a fight (Spirit, Cunning, or Honor) can you still use your weapons such as the Pistol which is +1 Combat? I seem to remember reading in a forum or FAQ that you could still use your weapons in the Base Game when fighting minions such as Ghost Soldiers, which require Spirit.


There is a distinction drawn between Fight Dice (the actual dice you get to roll in a Fight) and a Hero's individual Skills (Combat, Cunning, Spirit, and Honor). Normally in a Fight you roll Fight Dice equal to your Combat. Occasionally though, you will be in a situation where you roll Fight Dice equal to a different Skill instead (such as with the Runic Amulet Town Item that lets you fight using your Spirit instead of Combat).

This distinction is in place because an Item's Skill bonus (+1 Combat with the Pistol for instance) only benefits you in a Fight if you are using that Skill to Fight with. So if you had a Pistol (+1 Combat) and a Runic Amulet (Fight with Spirit), the Pistol wouldn't do you much good because you are not using your Combat to determine your Fight Dice.


Thoth Amon wrote:
2) In Cooperative Showdown, does each individual player roll for which Skill must be used or does one roll count for everyone in that Fight Round?


Roll for each Hero.


Thoth Amon wrote:
3) Does the Judge automatically do 3 Hits?


No. Roll his Fight Dice the first time, and then re-roll any of those dice that did not Hit. Any of these re-rolls that miss do not get to be re-rolled again.

Hope that helps. Happy Gaming!

-Jason







10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob T
United States
Mantua (near Woodbury)
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek VDG
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jchill7 wrote:
Thoth Amon wrote:
1) If you need to use something other than Combat for a fight (Spirit, Cunning, or Honor) can you still use your weapons such as the Pistol which is +1 Combat? I seem to remember reading in a forum or FAQ that you could still use your weapons in the Base Game when fighting minions such as Ghost Soldiers, which require Spirit.


There is a distinction drawn between Fight Dice (the actual dice you get to roll in a Fight) and a Hero's individual Skills (Combat, Cunning, Spirit, and Honor). Normally in a Fight you roll Fight Dice equal to your Combat. Occasionally though, you will be in a situation where you roll Fight Dice equal to a different Skill instead (such as with the Runic Amulet Town Item that lets you fight using your Spirit instead of Combat).

This distinction is in place because an Item's Skill bonus (+1 Combat with the Pistol for instance) only benefits you in a Fight if you are using that Skill to Fight with. So if you had a Pistol (+1 Combat) and a Runic Amulet (Fight with Spirit), the Pistol wouldn't do you much good because you are not using your Combat to determine your Fight Dice.


Hope that helps. Happy Gaming!

-Jason



Good stuff Jason! A quick related follow-on. I seem to recall reading somewhere that said you could still get the benefit of a weapon's other effects. For example, the rifle gives a bonus to combat as well as allowing the hero to roll first (instead of simultaneous). When using, say Spirit, in a Fight ... you could still use the Rifle. The bonus to the Combat skill wouldn't help, but the Rifle's other ability could still be used despite the fight not using the Combat skill. Correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Vinarcik
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And what about silver shot? Can its effect be used if you're using a non-combat skill?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.