Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Lock 'n Load: Band of Heroes» Forums » Rules

Subject: Melee and markers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Francis K. Lalumiere
Canada
Brossard
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does a melee activate both sides in the target hex?

In other words, if German units enter a hex with American units, both sides roll dice to resolve the melee, and then a melee marker is placed on the hex. The Americans can't do anything else that turn, right?

Or: in a melee that's already marked with a melee marker, if the German player decides to activate his units to fight another round of melee battle, then the Americans are once again considered to have acted this turn and can't do anything? (Not even withdraw?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vance Strickland
Canada
Nepean
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Both situations are correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Think of a Melee as an ongoing event. Even though the die rolling and units dying and players crying takes place all in one impulse, the fighting portrayed stretches out over the course of a turn, or more.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Gendron
Canada
Chambly
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I might be wrong: there can only be one melee impulse per round, units entering a hex that has already seen melee combat are considered to be reinforcing. Only on the next turn can you start a new melee combat inpulse with that hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct. I don't mean Melee is fought each impulse. "Fighting portrayed" means what is being simulated. In other words, for everything else, an Impulse completes the action a of activated units. For Melee, a Turn completes the action, with the possibility of he Melee extending into the next turn(s).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.