Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Age of Napoleon» Forums » General

Subject: Card Error? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Simmy Peerutin
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Am I missing something or is the Diplomacy card 'Joseph' incorrect in stating it may only be used by the coalition player. I have read and re-read the rules a number of times trying to understand them prior to playing and cannot find a reason why the coalition player would want to turn a French Ally into a French dominion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn Hansson
Sweden
Bromma
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
The card is perfectly alright. The reason you as a Coallition player want to turn a French ally into a dominion is that you can cause insurrections in Dominions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bosmans
Belgium
Mechelen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's indeed no card error.

And the card is perfectly understandable if you know the history lessons.
Spain was an important French ally, until Napoleon put his oldest brother "Joseph" on the throne in Spain.
Hereby creating a French "dominion" instead of an ally.
It all lead in 1808 to the first uprising (read insurrection) against the French emperor.
After assuring further diplomatic peace with Russia (to assure his back), Napoleon took his elite troops to Spain and put Joseph (who had fled the country) back on the throne. Napoleon won every major battle in 1808 in Spain, but lost control due to the continious insurrections.

The English assured the uprising was a success and through it they broke the economic isolation. The French could no longer block the British.
Spain was indeed the first major nation to have an insurrection launched against the Bonaparte family. This gave the other continental nations the courage to start hostilities again (Austria). 1808/1809 was indeed a turning point in the Age of Napoleon.

That's the beauty of this game. It's full of historical trivial data. Ever wondered why the "Talleyrand" card is both a French diplomatic card as well as a Coalition card?
The answer could be given by Napoleon himself when he called his ex minister of foreign affairs in 1809 "a pile of shit in silk stockings..."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.