Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Alien Frontiers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Plasma Cannon / Raiders question: rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike K
United States
Fairless Hills
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hypothetical situation:

A previous opponent has played 4-5-6 on the Raiders space. On my turn, I use my PC to blast the '6' out of there.

Which of the following is the smallest sequence I can now play on the Raiders space?

(a) 2-3-4
(b) 3-4-5
(c) 4-5-6 (which definitely CAN be played now)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Robert Yu
Philippines
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I say C....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike K
United States
Fairless Hills
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
freddieyu wrote:
I say C....

See, I think it's B ... and this came up in a game the other day.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Robert Yu
Philippines
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hmmm let me see what the Ipad app does once the situation comes up...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Biggar
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The sum of the dice left is 9 so either B or C can be played, 2-3-4 adds up to 9 and so cannot be played as it not strictly greater then what's there.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Robert Yu
Philippines
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK. Learned something new today!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike K
United States
Fairless Hills
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mark_biggar wrote:
The sum of the dice left is 9 so either B or C can be played, 2-3-4 adds up to 9 and so cannot be played as it not strictly greater then what's there.

In my game, the feeling was that I had to beat the highest die with my own, so B wasn't allowed.

Thx for the clarification. Will know this for future games.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam H
United States
Kent
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Straight from the rulebook on page 9 under the Raider's Outpost explanation:

Rulebook wrote:
Example 2:
A 3-4-5 are docked at the Raiders’ Outpost. You use the Plasma Cannon to send the 5 back to the Maintenance Bay, leaving a 3 and 4 on the Raiders’ Outpost. To dock a higher-value sequence at the Raiders’ Outpost you must use a run of three ships that totals more than the sum of the ships currently docked there. The remaining ships total 7 so you may not dock a 1-2-3 since they only total 6. However, you may dock a 2-3-4 (total 9), a 3-4-5 (total 12) or a 4-5-6 (total 15) to use the Raiders’ Outpost.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Freels
Australia
Rooty Hill (Sydney)
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AF Expansion: The Interstellar Council takes this one step further by having 3 different things you can do at the Raiders Outpost docking space:

Raiders Outpost with a 3-dice straight to raid.
Fleet Academy with 3 odd dice for a military base.
Civil Logistics with 15+ in pips for a MegaCity.

The greater than bumping rule applies to all 3 uses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.