Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Awful Green Things From Outer Space» Forums » Rules

Subject: Temporary weapon effect, a simple question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Coward
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I'm sure this should be obvious but I just want to check.

When two untried weapons are used at once is a temporary effect applied only when some Green Things are affected by both, or when both are used in the same area?

E.g.

1. Captain Yid has a Stun Pistol, Doc has a Hypodermic. There are two green things in the room. Yid attacks one, Doc the other. Permanent effects are assigned?

2. If they both attack the same then temporary effects.

3. Now if Yid has a Fire extinguisher instead then both Green Things are affected, one by the hypodermic as well so temporary effects are applied for both.

Thanks in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Salch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes to all

and welcome to BGG
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vopping wrote:
3. Now if Yid has a Fire extinguisher instead then both Green Things are affected, one by the hypodermic as well so temporary effects are applied for both.


Yes, in this case you draw a single chit and it's the temporary effect for both the Fire Extinguisher and the Hypodermic for this one battle. So apply that temporary effect to one enemy once and to the other enemy twice. Then return the chit to the cup. It's not "obvious", but there's an example exactly like this in the rules:

Example: Two Adults and a Baby are hiding in the Science
Lab. Captain Yid and Sparks open the hatch and fire both a Fire
Extinguisher and a Stun Pistol into the area. The pistol is aimed
at one of the Adults. Neither weapon has been used before, so
only one chit will be drawn for both weapons. The chit drawn is
Shrink. The Baby is reduced to an Egg, as is the Adult that was
fired on by both the Stun Pistol and the Fire Extinguisher. The
other Adult is reduced to a Baby.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And if two weapons are the same, and both untried, are they also returned to the cup?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Salch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zombiegod wrote:
And if two weapons are the same, and both untried, are they also returned to the cup?



Then we are back to this discussion Two use of one untried weapon - temporary chit?

which you partcipated in.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John "Omega" Williams
United States
Kentwood
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
costguy wrote:
zombiegod wrote:
And if two weapons are the same, and both untried, are they also returned to the cup?



Then we are back to this discussion Two use of one untried weapon - temporary chit?

which you partcipated in.


According to Tom Wham's post, Two same, but untried weapons, are treated as one use and is not temporary.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.