Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mage Wars Arena» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ring of Beasts and Lair rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Artifice Knight
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Ring of Beasts lets you cast animal spells for one less mana then it would normally require. Does this discount work when using the Lair to summon a creature during the deployment phase as well, or is it only animal spells the beastmaster plays personally?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Hunt
United States
Riverton
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good question. My first instinct would be to say no, you don't get the discount as it's the lair that is actually doing the summoning, but I'm not 100% certain about that one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Leitner
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anything cast from a spawnpoint is specifically cast from that spawnpoint, not from the mage. Therefore, any bonuses which accrue to the mage, do NOT accrue to the spawn point.

In this case, the ring does nothing for creatures cast from the Lair.

Hope this helps.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Louzau
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Funny. We aske that of the creator yesterday. Here is the answer.

2.) If I use my Lair to spawn a creature, and I pay mana from my mage to cover the remaining cost not already on the Lair, can I use Ring of Beasts? Does doing it that way count as the Mage casting the creature?

That’s a good question – we need to post that! No, it does not count. The spawnpoint is still the caster.

Which also means that the Gate to Voltari does not get you mana when the opponent mage uses his mana to help the Battleforge or Spawnpoint or Familiar cast.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Artifice Knight
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
And also means that magebane will not trigger for spells cost from those same locations either!

Okay, thats what I was curious about.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.